We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aalton Motel
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Would highly recommend this motel. Iain is very hospitable and our unit was clean and comfortable. Very close to Hagley Park and a beautiful walk to the city. Plenty of food choices nearby. We would choose to stay here again if we revisited Christchurch. Iain, we bought some Glenmorangie to toast your hometown when we got home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Aalton a couple of times so far when working in ChCh and definitely rate this the as the most comfortable and best value at the Hagley Park end of Riccarton Road. The standard studio has a great bed, is cosy & comfy, is kept wonderfully clean and the small kitchenette area is all you need for organising breakfast or a packed lunch. The apartments are all separated and away from the road, so noise from the street or the motel has never been an issue. Having so much of the city and facilities in Riccarton right on the doorstep is just part of the attraction! Little details like a wee bit of free broadband and plunger coffee in the room just goes to show that Ian and Jane do that little bit extra to make the Aalton a welcoming stay.

Room Tip: The small studio is a great option for just a couple of nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Unit was spacious, light and extremely comfortable. Everything was generous - free wifi, bath, plunger coffee, efficient heaters and TV in both lounge and bedroom. Friendly service, great location. Excellent value, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great restaurants and one of the biggest shopping centre in the city within a walking distance. A 24h food store next door.
In mid-winter, even with a heater in a room, I was quite cold at night and had to wait a while for hot water to take a shower.
The facility looks a bit old but the room was very clean and has a cosy bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balto-jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very happy with our stay at the Aalton. Perfect location close to great restaurants, Westfield shopping centre and a short walk through the park to the city. Room was a bit out-dated however had a comfy bed, flat screen tv and was very clean. Hotel staff were very helpful and nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller15151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spacious room and a small but adequite kitchen with outside door to a washing line.
Everything you need is there.
But somehow I did not feel welcome at all, especially on booking in (perhaps the owner had a bad day)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very spacious and well function room. We stayed in 2 bedrooms unit and found that this is the most spacious place and well section of kitchen, bathroom, toilet and living room. With full line of kitchen facility, you can have your good meal there. Although it is quite dated, it's clean and enough. Definitely a good place to stay at reasonable price.
Location is also unbeatable, near the big shopping mall, Hagley park and many restuarants.
Try "Benson no.1 chinese restuarant", it's so good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t000n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#73 of 146 in Christchurch
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing