We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Birthday night”
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aalton Motel
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful Birthday night”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband Craig and myself have once again been back to this wonderful Motel
Aalton is always very clean and Tidy and also Iian always welcome people with a very freindly welcome out of the motel that Craig and myself have stayed in christchurch Aalton is the best
once again thanks Iian

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
47
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a very basic motel / motor inn. The staff is very welcoming! The rooms are good-sized. Just keep in mind that this is very basic. The motel is a bit old, but has is freshly painted and "freshened". It has a nice flatscreen LCD TV, a nice small dorm-sized fridge and a nice little microwave. Shower was great! It is absolutely spotless and very clean. WiFi is available and FREE. The location is a very short walking distance from all the action in the Riccarton Road district (since the city center of Christchurch is still rebuilding). I was here for the rugby and the atmosphere was electric. The owner even organized a cheap taxi fare to the airport! Set your expectations appropriately and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: get further away from the street for a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Owners are helpful and kind, The rooms are comfy and well maintained. It is close to the park and lots of eateries. Will stay again if we come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked this hotel because I only had one day to visit - to walk the city center and the park. Unfortunately, my visit was after the earthquakes had demolished the city center. Still I was able to access Hagley Park, one of the largest city parks in the world (it even has it's own river running through it) and the city center perimeter. The park is a few yards to the right as you exit the property and the city center is further out about a 20-30 minute walk on the other side of the park. The city center is cordoned off now by fencing. Still, I engaged in some "disaster tourism" not unlike tourists to ground zero in New York after 9/11. With my camera, I took photos of the earthquake destruction in the city center from the perimeter outside the wire fencing.

The hotel provides roomy units. I traveled solo and had room number one for the night - a two bedroom, one bath unit with living room and kitchen. The rooms were dated with 60's or 70's decor, but the facility and furnishings were in good conditon. The unit was spotless and reflected the pride of the owners who take time to know your name and help you plan your day. Their insight and knowledge saved me a lot lof effort. Their recommendation of breakfast cafes was valuable - the Ground Floor Cafe (try their eggs benedict) or the Seed Cafe, both several blocks to the left. The Westfield Mall and a number of shops are along the same street as well.

One recommendation. If you enjoy aviation or military museums, try the Air Force Museum, a 15 minute bus ride on the #5 or 81.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our flight was changed and instead of arriving at 3pm we finally made it there at 1am. A quick email to Ian the owner and he had organized a late check in plus the shuttle to take us to tranz alpine station that morning.
When we finally arrived our rooms were lovely and warm thx to the heaters and electric blankets being put on in advance. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable and clean.
Unfortunately the shuttle didn't turn up and thanks again to Ian he quickly drove us to the station in his 4wd.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I had originally wanted to stay somewhere closer to the CBD but after the earthquake, I thought one of the motels down Riccarton Road would be more appropriate. Eventually settled on Aalton Motel which turned out to be a very good decision. Everything was set out well for us.

We arrived at midnight so the owners left the keys for us. We reserved for a large studio but got upgraded to an apartment-type 1 bedroom unit. It was spacious, with a separate living area and kitchen. The unit was very clean and the furnishings were certainly better than what I would expect from a motel. The owners were kind enough to leave tourist paraphernalia - this included maps, brochures, booklets, etc - for our consumption which proved to be much help at the start of our trip.

We returned to Aalton near the end of our trip, where we stayed 2 nights. This time, we got a large studio like the one we had booked. The room size was still quite big, and larger than those in hotels. This time we got to meet the owners of the motel who were very friendly and helpful in giving us tips on Christchurch. They were also kind enough to book our airport transfer for us.

Location-wise, it could not have been better. The motel was just 2 minutes walk to a convenience store, and about 5 minutes walk towards a complex with several restaurants, including a Chinese restaurant which we frequented. Around 20 minutes from Aalton was Westfield Riccarton, said to be the largest mall in all of NZ's South Island.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is our first trip to NZ and we rented a car. Aalton was easy to locate with the help of a GPS. We spent our first 2 nights there and was happy to find the room was very neat, clean and quiet, although the warmer can be abit noisy during the night. The manager was hospitable and friendly too.

The room is well equipped with a decent sized television (we usually like to watch TV before we sleep). It also helps that all rooms are on the ground floor - there is no need for us to tow our heavy lugguages up and down. Parking is a breeze too (just outside our room). Both my partner and I enjoyed our stay in Aalton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Property: Aalton Motel
Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing