We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #30 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
China
1 review
“Excellent motel!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lorenzo motor lodge is our stop in Zealend. The room was lovely and got everything we need, good size for our family, highly recommend this motel, best motel we stayed in New Zealend. I will choose this motel next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    85
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
94
199
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I think the difference is the owner Ping; as an example, before we arrived for our one night stay, she had tried to arrange transport to the train station for our 6am departure, but couldn't. So when we arrived she offered to get up and take us her self!!! A genuine gesture of help.

It's a neat and clean motel, rooms are of a good size. Very close (short stroll) to some good restaurants as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Place was warm and friendly from the moment we arrived.

Two desperate queen bedrooms with there own TV's.

Spa bath to relax in and a kitchen fitted out with everything you could need.

Close to everything you could possible want including a very short 5min drive to Christchurch CBD.

Unfortunately there was construction going on to fix earthquake damage at the time of our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IrishMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoMotorLodge, Owner at Lorenzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello Leonard,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted you enjoyed our location , service and rooms. Kind regards, Ping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Walking distance to restaurants; friendly staff who are very helpful; nice clean and comfortable rooms with small balcony or patio; secure; lovey bit bathroom that had a spa with all the toiletries that I needed. Suited me as I was on business but would be great for couples and families.

Room Tip: I prefer downstairs rooms that have patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Lorenzo, while a little more expensive than some, is worth the extra cost. The owners were welcoming, even though we arrived before the check-in time. We were in Executive Studio 1, with a large sliding glass door opening onto the parking lot. The room was large with a kitchenette, which include little extras like packets of a variety of teas and espresso coffee. While the room was spotlessly clean and spacious, the bathroom was quite small.
The Motor Lodge is within walking distance of downtown Christchurch, but you do need to cross a very busy intersection with 3 roads intersecting at odd angles, making a tricky crossing. Also, the walk takes you through or next to the beautiful Christchurch Botanical Gardens, about 15 – 20 minutes depending on the pace. We got a little lost in the gardens, so our walk was a bit longer.
We highly recommend this hotel for its welcoming owners, clean and spacious room, proximity to downtown Christchurch, and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Although there was minimal parking-lot noise, rooms on the second floor may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is a bit overwhelming looking online for places to stay in Christchurch but we settled on this place because of the reviews here in TripAdvisor! And it ended up as the right place for us! It is newly refurbished after the earthquakes and, for example, if I could have packed up and taken the shower home with me I would have!
We had booked a studio room with two single beds (for my mother and I) but when we arrived they didn't seem to have noticed this detail - and it all could have gone to custard there and then - but fortunately they were able to give us a room that had a separate bedroom and a bed in the lounge. This was therefore better!
We were in Christchurch for the rugby and this was in a very convenient location.
When our homeward flights were cancelled due to fog and we had to stay in Christchurch an extra night, we went straight back to the Lorenzo and although we had to pay for a much more expensive room, it was lovely and we were very pleased.

Room Tip: The motel is on a main road, so if you are a light sleeper (like me) I would ask for a back room. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiRugbyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Well run tidy property, well appointed motel rooms.

Visiting Christchurch for business and looking for a clean, wifi enabled, quiet property to stay at for one night.

From my experience this is a good property with only one negative for me and that was Riccarton road, this is a busy road, day and night and Lorenzo is right on it.

The room I stayed in (10) faced the road and being a light sleeper this did affect my stay, and hence my Average rating of the property. It may be that the other rooms wihout the front door facing the road are fine.

Room Tip: If sleep quality is important think of a room not facing Riccarton road Dux Dine, next door for din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnightInBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#28 of 144 in Christchurch
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Property: Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing