We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located motel with nice facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

In the Riccarton suburb but close to the botanical gardens and to the shopping mall, it was all fine.
We had breakfast as suggested across the road.
Good job we thought the 4.3 quake was a noisy night train!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 395 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

The room itself was well-equipped and quite comfortable. In keeping with Christchurch and NZ accommodation, there is no airconditioning or fans to provide forced ventilation, so it becomes necessary to have windows open to allow for any air movement. Unfortunately this allows a LOT of noise to penetrate. Road noise from Riccarton Rd was continuous but not annoying. However the premises next door hosted a very noisy early breakfast crowd which destroyed our morning sleep on each of the three morning of our stay. The killer of them all though was the railway line 60 metres from our bedroom window - the waning bells and then the sounds of the trains throughout the night (four one night) disrupted our sleep and we are not light sleepers.

Although this is not the management's fault, we would suggest considering this before booking.

Room Tip: Elsewhere if you want a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don-Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Lorenzo Motor Lodge is centrally located on Riccarton Road, which is only about a 10-15 minute drive from the airport and within walking distance of Hagley Park, the Botanic Gardens, the Riccarton Mall, and even some of downtown. The distance from the park and botanic gardens is about a 15-30 minute walk (depending on how far into the park/gardens you travel) while downtown is beyond the park/gardens area so about 45 minutes away, and the shopping mall (with a food court and typical shopping stores) was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

There is no breakfast available on site so they recommend you go to one of the cafes across the street, which works out fine. We opted instead to pick up some cereal and milk from one of the convenience stores/gas station grocery stores down the street from the hotel and eat breakfast in our room since we had bowls, silverware, etc.

As far as services go... the hotel staff cleaned each day, which included doing dishes and the general cleaning. We also had a good experience with the complimentary wireless internet, which we were thankful for since previous hotels along our journey had spotty internet coverage at best.

We thought we might regret not having a car, but due to the fabulous location and the fact that our Edoras Lord of the Rings Tour picked us up at the hotel, it was not a problem at all, and we were quite happy to see parts of the city while getting a little exercise! We would stay here again if we have the occasion to visit in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyWizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Friendly welcome. Free wifi in room. Good size room and small outside patio. The staff even arranged a free transfer to the railway station. Easy walk through the park into the city. Plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk. Trevinos was our choice and an excellent one at that.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What an excellent motel. Great location with plenty of good eating establishments close by - you must go to Dux Dine for dinner and breakfast. The studio room was spacious; the bed ultra-comfortable; the shower invigorating; and a full range of Sky TV channels to choose from. Lots of nice touches to make one's stay enjoyable. Lorenzo may be a bit more expensive than some other motels, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the road may have some traffic noise - my unit was away from the road and I always t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandNZ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Lovely clean and well equipped motel suite with decent size rooms . Its a good location with a few good restaurants quite close by . We also enjoyed the walk into the CBD area via Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens . Only a short drive from the airport too

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Lorenzo motel. It's a centrally located place with the Westfield mall at walking distance (approx. 10 mins). If you like to walk, then the Richard Hagley park and the old chapel are also just about 20-25 mins from this place.
The staff was so friendly and co-operative.
The rooms were spotless. There was a small kitchenette where a small meal could be cooked.
The only thing that could have been better was the size of the beds. My family is slightly on the obese side. So the beds were kind of small for us to be comfortable. Other than that, everything was perfect. This was one of the few hotels (in my experience) in New Zealand that provided free, unlimited wi-fi!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#59 of 146 in Christchurch
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#57 of 146 in Christchurch
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $96 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing