We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #28 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't write reviews but having stayed a night at Lorenzo Motor Lodge i just had to share how impressed my partner & i were. I can't fault a single aspect of the hotel & would have happily stayed longer. The service was exceptional, the room immaculate & we were within a 15 minute walk to the beautiful Christchurch Botanical Gardens. Mike was so helpful & friendly, pointing out how to make the most of our short stay, where to eat & even provided a free set of AA guidebooks for our motorhome trip around the south island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwrixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    84
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
92
199
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Mike and Mary make this stay special. Come in as travelers, leave as friends. Helpful tips for the traveler, central location to enjoy CHCH by foot or car, speedy internet, milk waiting in the fridge for our first morning early coffee. And some nincompoop (me) left his shaver in the room, travelled to Twyzel only to be tracked down by Mike by email so that our itinerary and the forwarded shaver met somewhere on the southwest coast. This property is kept in new condition, and is very comfortable, especially in the one bedroom suite we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Unit 7 is a larger one bedroom suite, jacuzzi tub, 2 TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lorenzo Motor Lodge is in a perfect location for exploring Christchurch. It is in walking distance to Hagley Park, The Botanical Gardens and The Canterbury Museum. There are also shopping and dining options nearby. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The lodge is 15 minutes from the airport and a 5 minute ride to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hands down, this is one of the friendliest places I've ever stayed. Mike and Mary are both exceptional hosts, and the Lorenzo Motor Lodge is a perfect place to come home to after a day out in Christchurch (or a long international flight). I stayed in room 10, which is amply sized, immaculately clean, and very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom is large with a spa tub, and the room includes a stocked kitchenette.

The hotel is a short, pleasant walk from the center of town on the west side of Hagley Park. Due to the damage from the 2011 earthquake, much of the city center is closed off, and many of the restaurants and shops have relocated to where the Lorenzo Motor Lodge sits. But the best reason to stay here is Mike and Mary. They are both genuinely caring people, and I loved spending time talking to them. Mary offered to take me herself to the train station for my early morning departure, and Mike spent an hour showing me photos and sharing stories from the earthquake. They made me feel extremely welcome, and I could not ask for a better place to start my trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for over three weeks as our first 'home' in New Zealand. Mike and Mary were perfect welcoming hosts and the room was spacious and very well equipped. Well located for restaurants, Hagley Park, Botanic Gardens etc. Deserves all the praise it gets

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Lorenzo Motor Lodge. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and nicer than we'd expected based on other places we'd stayed in New Zealand. Our only complaints were the lack of air conditioning (it was hot while we were there) and having a handicap room with a wet shower (booked late). The location was good. There was food to walk to and our host gave us recommendations of places to eat (menus in the rooms).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had two nights here in Jan 2013, and it’s a great base to explore the area from. The welcome we had was very warm, the room was massive and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was a little on the small side, but clean and perfectly functional. Kitchen was nicely equipped and there was free wifi which was great. The surrounding area has plenty going for it – lots of nice places to eat & shop, the café across the street is great for breakfast (Lorenzo’s wifi still works over there) and the Running Bull down the street is good for dinner or drinks. Christchurch is a pleasant 20min walk through the park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolzBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#83 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#68 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#42 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Property: Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing