We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor and dirty accommodation”
Review of Tranquil Lodge

Tranquil Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Lodge
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Everything was in a poor state with this hostel, from the building surrounds, dirty rooms, kitchen and dining area. Taps, toilets and sinks that didn't work. I suppose you can excuse some things from the earthquake but with large numbers of people passing through this hostel you need to have a level of cleanliness. We stayed in a number of hostels in New Zealand but this was definitely the worst.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEW466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Old place desperately in need of some work! Location ok except hookers have moved out to this street due to the quake. Room was pretty clean and host friendly enough

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliMoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a private room with a shared shower. The matress was old and pretty uncomfortable, the kitchen and fridges were filty. The garbage wasn't changed, the water didn't work properly, and the cost was pretty expensive. To add insult, there were signs up in the kitchen insulting the guests for not cleaning up after themselves. Worst hostel we've stayed at yet

Room Tip: Only stay at this hostel if you can't find another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejones77rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Not the hostels fault but we had some 5 mag earthquakes while we were there and the very spongy beds made you feel everything. Apart from that the room smelt a bit musty and was cramped due to the single bed squashed in. The first shower I tried to usedidnt work and was held up by tape. Filthy hand towel and bath mat.
It did have a tv and sink in the room though. Not near the only part of ChCh which is open but a taxi ride from merivale which has a few bars.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The place is in need of an overhaul. There are cracks in the walls from earthquake damage, everything feels damp and smells musty. Not sure when the place last had a clean with wet towels and old toiletries sitting in the bathrooms and a massive bag of overflowing rubbish in the linen cupboard. There is junk out the front of the house where damaged furntiure has been removed from the earthquake. Bathrooms are being renovated so its like a building site somewhat. Im sure the owners are still trying to scrape an income and I feel sorry that their building is damaged but they need to charge alot less then what they are or close down until the place is bought up to a decent standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelequalslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hostel owner was very helpful and gave us a lift back from the car rental site, the room was large, the hostel clean, if a bit dated and slightly damaged from the earthquake. Location is not central but is walkable to the centre

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We initially stayed here on our 1st night in Christchurch because it was cheap. But Graham (the owner) was so helpful and the hostel was so convenient and just good value for money, that when we picked some friends up from the airport a couple of days later, we all ended up staying here too.

We stayed in the dorm rooms which are spacious, clean and warm. It has a great kitchen!

It is a 15 minute walk to the centre of Christchurch, but if you have backpacks with you, get a taxi. We walked and it was more like 30minutes with all our bags lol!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candnadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.5 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#135 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
497 reviews
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Lodge

Address: 440 Manchester Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $30 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing