We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We booked two stays at the Dorest House ~ one at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand and one right before we returned home. Both stays were wonderful. Having the kitchen to prepare meals was great. It was nicely equipped and allowed visiting with fellow travelers from all over the world. Dorset House is well located and was an easy walk or bus ride into the city and beyond. The staff was friendly and helpful and were able to answer all of our questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdnra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    84
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
74
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Dorset House is just plain GREAT. Quiet, clean, comfortable, complete amenities and safe neighborhood. Highly recommended to all will be traveler to Christchurch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

This backpackers out of all the ones we stayed in was the most like a home. The facilities were great, kitchen was clean and the rooms were tidy. The staff were very friendly. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemofthema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was a solo female over 50 and I stayed here three nights. One night on my way to Franz Joseph and a week later two nights. The first time I arrived late and everything worked as planned. I had a code to access the locked front door. The key was available as planned and my room was very nice. One special thing to say about this place is that you can get the heat you need. There is an electric radiator heater plus an electric heater under the bottom sheet. I booked a single room. The rooms are small and only have a bed, night stand and lamp, TV mounted on the wall and hooks on the back of the door for clothes. The kitchen was clean and cheerful. I was able to leave a bag there the first time I was there to pick up when I returned. The house is about a 10 minute walk to town. A little farther from town then some places, but then also in a quiet neighborhood. Internet was available and computers for use. Another great thing was that the front desk was very helpful directing me to activities of interest and they made the phone calls to make reservations for tours and for shuttle pickup to the airport. Mostly 18-25 year old backpackers so if you are older you are in a group by yourself. The cost of a taxi from Cathedral Square to Dorset House was $8NZ.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily by a friendly group of cleaners. The rooms were spacious and the communal area had tv with a library of dvds and a free pool table and a vending machine. The only downside was the unreliable internet access. Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We love the heated mattress and it was a comfort to know that they have it here at dorset house. Except that their heater is not too strong, however during non-winter times should not be an issue ;) The staff is really friendly and they have cool lounge and kitchen! It was so cosy that even during winter times, it simply warmed our hearts. :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at Dorset house twice during our trip to NZ, when we first arrived and also at the end of our trip. The facilities are basic but everything you should need for a short stay. The room, bathrooms and kitchens were very clean.
The staff very very friendly and helped us with tourist information too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 102 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Property: Dorset House Backpackers
Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing