We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch hostel!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel. No bunk beds in dorms and bedside lights for all beds as well as plenty of powerpoints and space to put your things. Bathrooms are clean and there are enough for everyone. Only 5 beds per room and nice communal areas. Friendly staff too. Would definitely stay here again, highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ttashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear you were happy that you didn’t have to climb into a bunk bed. Thank you very much for staying and we hope to see you again in the future!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Warm regards,
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    86
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
75
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed for a total of 4 nights. Beautifully restored 1870s home. Lovely garden and location, being close to the gardens, museum, riverbank and city centre. Comfortable lounge area to relax and chat to fellow travellers so no need to hide out in room. Great historical photos and artifacts line the walls. Free internet had more allowance than what I needed. Plenty of room choices to cater for every budget. For 3 nights I stayed in a large double. Clean comfortable (room 19) plenty of space and a TV. However this room is right underneath the upstairs outdoor balcony. On the first night there were a group of male revellers yelling at passers by on the street and from the room they sounded like they were trashing the place, running up and down and throwing the chairs around and left a mess of bottles and empty wine casks everywhere. This may not normally be a party hostel, but due to the fact that the larger backpackers such as Base and the YHA (city centre) are no longer available, and lack of entertainment in the city centre, the party crowd have fewer options and may find their way here. I get that it's a backpackers not an over 60s bed and breakfast, but it amazes me that some ferels simply have no respect for other guests or hostel property. Bring earplugs in case you end up in room 18 or 19.

The final night prior to leaving for home I spent in a small double room 9 which was upstairs and further away from the kitchen/balcony. Again comfortable wth TV. However most of the hooks for hanging clothes were broken and the power point next to the bed was not working so had to unplug TV to charge phone and could not use bedside lamp. No big deal though. Plenty of bathrooms, the ones downstairs were better. Kitchen seemed well equipped and clean although I didnt use it. Lovely hosts, late arrival system worked well, and they booked a shuttle to the airport for me with a discounted price, and I was able to store my pack for the day free of charge. Nothing was too much trouble. Be sure to come to Christchurch, still lots to see and do and much to learn about the city's recovery.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 (large doubles) are direcly under outdoor balcony and kitchen = noise. Small double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review! We are pleased to hear you found our location to be convenient and our hostel to be comfortable.

However, we are very sorry to hear you’ve experienced the noise of the group of boys staying and do apologise for this. It is indeed not respectful of them to behave like this and we are sorry you had to experience this during one of your nights here. We usually indeed don’t have groups or party guests staying.

We have checked the power point in room 9 and it seems to work fine. Perhaps you did not turn on the ‘switch on’ button? Thank you for making us aware of the hooks. There are indeed only 4 hooks as a few have broken. We will replace this when our handyman comes in.

We are glad to hear you can recommend Christchurch as a city, as there is indeed still plenty to do. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards,
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

our family were at dorset house over Xmas/Boxing Day. it was lovely. clean and tidy. fabulous lounge area w free pool table. well stocked kitchen. security code for door gets changed weekly which is good. staff really friendly and helpful. would definately stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy to here that you’ve enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again! We always try our utmost best to make our guests feel welcome and keep the hostel clean and tidy and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Warm regards,
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was the final stop of our New Zealand tour. A comfortable, cosy backpackers with lovely helpful staff. It matched the high standards of all the places we stayed in NZ. Great location for exploring Christchurch and within easy reach of the airport with a car.

The best thing about this place happened after we left. In the rush to pack our things ready for our flight home, I had forgotten to pack my jade necklace that my husband had bought for me earlier on the trip. I realised I didn't have it when we were already half-way home with no chance of being able to go back for it! After a quick email exchange, they let me know they had found it and posted it to me at no charge :D Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxijewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hostel to be comfortable and staff to be helpful! We’re glad we were able to help out sending back the necklace, as we understand the value and meaning of such a gift.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here a few times in October and really enjoyed it. It was a quiet, clean place to recoup. They do a good job of keeping the kitchen clean and encouraging guests to do the same. I am in my late 20's and was looking for a more relaxed atmosphere. This place was perfect and I met some great travellers here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear you’ve met some great travellers here and enjoyed your stay. We indeed try to create a relaxed and calm atmosphere and are definitely not a party hostel.

Thanks for staying!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a family room (double + 2 singles) and we enjoyed it. The room was clean, as well the shared bathrooms.
Great location - walking distance from CBD far enough to find a free parking spot (hostel car park is often full).
The kitchen / dining area is too small and not that equipped, but overall our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Family Room! We will do a stock take of our kitchen utensils and add to the collection if needed. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice little backpackers in a great location in Christchurch. My stay there was short as I just needed a bed for the night, but the staff was very accommodating of my odd check-in time and the room was fantastic to get a refreshing sleep.

Room Tip: Beware of the shower on the back building! For wherever reason it was TOO hot and I almost burned my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi There,

We’re very grateful that you took the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you had a fantastic sleep and hope you’ll enjoy the rest of your trip.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Property: Dorset House Backpackers
Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing