We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great hostel with friendly staff and close to the city. I had a single room, with a comfortable bed and t.v. Bathroom was clean and I was given a towel. Big kitchen area with outside eating if you wanted to. Over looking the Avon River and park. With some great pop up bars and in short walking distance. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You can order a shuttle from them to take you to the nearby airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you had a great time at Dorset House! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    85
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
75
94
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great little hostel, would recommend it to anyone. Really friendly staff who were happy to help. Cleaned nicely by the staff daily but sometimes unfortunately the other guest felt they didn't need to clean up their own mess! Free wifi (limited) and electric blankets:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear you found our hostel to be clean and our staff to be friendly! Unfortunately not everyone feels like they should clean up after themselves - our staff try to make up for this by working extra hard. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I arrived late and key was hanged at board. Facilities (kitchen set, wc/shower, laundry) are available and good. This hostel is close to bus stop in Victoria St (cmiiw).

I was lil bit scared because of creepy oldish interior. Looks like this hostel is historical building. Mostly, visitors are old man (I guess they transit for early flight). They were snoring whole night and argued each other in the morning. Really funny! lol..

Room Tip: Avoid old man because they are snoring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lammm077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Our hostel is indeed in a historic building (built in 1871). For more information please also see http://www.dorset.co.nz/house. However, the hostel has been renovated in early 2012 so I’m surprised you found our interior to be oldish. Our guests have very mixed ages and there is usually a good balance. I am sad to hear you had a snoring guest in your room. Unfortunately this does sometimes happen in Shared Rooms and we recommend using earplugs in Shared Rooms.

I do hope you were able to sleep even though someone in the room was snoring. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dorset House was well located, clean, safe, and comfortable. The home-style bathrooms were spotless, and the beds were comfortable. The place had charm, and was in great condition. The staff were universally helpful and friendly. It was a little pricey, but then so was the rest of New Zealand! If you stay there, don't just keep to your room...you'll find nice people in the large, airy lounge on the main floor, and in the small but efficient kitchen. This was a great introduction to hosteling in New Zealand for a couple of active seniors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarMountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a detailed review. We’re very glad you found our hostel to be safe, clean and comfortable and our location to be good as well. We’re also very happy to hear you met some lovely people in the lounge and kitchen – that’s what it’s all about when staying in hostels!

Thank you very much for staying with us and we would love to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The backpackers looks very welcoming and clean, and the rooms were not too small (we had a double room).
Our bed had electric blankets which was nice, but the window did not stay closed properly and the heater did not work. They also talk about wifi access but our room was so far away we could not really pick up the signal.
However, we found they were very friendly and helpful, and easy to find. Also not that far from some nice places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re very sorry to hear you weren’t able to close the window and that the heater did not work. If you could please send us a message/email with your room number we’ll be able to replace the heater (as we have a few spare heaters behind reception) and look at the window. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you were able to enjoy some of the restaurants nearby.

Thank you for staying and we would love to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arrived in the middle of the night and we arranged with the hostel to have us picked up at the airport and our key ready by the door. No trouble what so ever! Nice staff, clean and very comfortable beds in warm rooms.
Since this was just a short stop for us on our way between the airport and our campervan we didn't feel that we had use for the kitchen etc, but it seemed spacious and clean. Maybe since we didn't have use for everything the hostel had to offer, we felt it was a bit pricey, however one of the cheapest we found in the area.
Good location in the center with walking distance to for example the ReStart area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear our process for late arrivals was convenient for you. Thanks also for your feedback in regards to our staff and hostel, we are very pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay!

We’re also glad to hear you found our location to be convenient – approximately a 10 minute walk to the city centre and botanical gardens. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Dorset for one night and it was really good for a backpackers. Stayed in a single room which was clean, The bathroom was clean and the location were great! All the staff members i cam into contact were friendly. Bed was comfy and warm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you found our hostel to be clean, comfortable and warm and all our staff to be friendly. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to our location – it’s important to have a great base to explore the city.

Thank you for staying at Dorset House and we would love to see you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 103 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Property: Dorset House Backpackers
Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing