We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arrived in the middle of the night and we arranged with the hostel to have us picked up at the airport and our key ready by the door. No trouble what so ever! Nice staff, clean and very comfortable beds in warm rooms.
Since this was just a short stop for us on our way between the airport and our campervan we didn't feel that we had use for the kitchen etc, but it seemed spacious and clean. Maybe since we didn't have use for everything the hostel had to offer, we felt it was a bit pricey, however one of the cheapest we found in the area.
Good location in the center with walking distance to for example the ReStart area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear our process for late arrivals was convenient for you. Thanks also for your feedback in regards to our staff and hostel, we are very pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay!

We’re also glad to hear you found our location to be convenient – approximately a 10 minute walk to the city centre and botanical gardens. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Dorset House Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Dorset for one night and it was really good for a backpackers. Stayed in a single room which was clean, The bathroom was clean and the location were great! All the staff members i cam into contact were friendly. Bed was comfy and warm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you found our hostel to be clean, comfortable and warm and all our staff to be friendly. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to our location – it’s important to have a great base to explore the city.

Thank you for staying at Dorset House and we would love to see you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a twin single room. Nice comfortable mattresses, great TV, soft towels and the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. My only issue was that considering the low season it was quite expensive and the internet was a complete rip off. All in all an above average place and if I was going to return to Christchurch I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usc_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you would stay with us again! Thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to the twin room and staff.

We also appreciate your feedback in regards to our rates. However, we do feel that the rates reflect the quality and cleanliness of our backpackers compared to other hostels in Christchurch. Even though the rest of New Zealand is currently in the shoulder season, Christchurch still experiences a high demand (because of the lack of accommodation) and we are almost fully booked every night – like in the high season.

We are a little concerned in regards to the internet, as we are unsure whether you found the connection to be lacking or whether you found you were not given enough data perhaps? We double the free WiFi data for all bookings made direct on our website or by email or phone.

Thanks again for staying and we would love to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed 7 days when first arriving in Chch and then 1 more night prior to leaving NZ. Lovely clean dorm room with bathroom facilities close by. Single beds and not bunks which really suited me. Very quiet lounge area with lots of information available and free WiFi (daily allowance more than I needed). Staff very friendly and helpful and building situated easy walking distance to central Chch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular the single beds in the dorm (with bathroom facilities close by), the beautiful lounge and free WiFi. It’s also great to hear you found our location to be convenient to explore central Christchurch. We also appreciate the feedback in regards to our helpful staff and always try to make every guest feel welcome.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we would love to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a double room after arriving in New Zealand. Room was warm and comfortable and bathrooms were very close by. Welcome from staff was friendly and late changes to our stay were accommodated swiftly. Very good breakfasts available around the corner at Strawberry Fare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pakistandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Dorset House (especially since it was your first stay in New Zealand). We always try to turn on heaters and make the room cosy for late arrivals. Strawberry Fare is indeed one of our favourites (we also like Vics for breakfast, which is just around the corner).

Thanks for staying and we would love to see you again. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few backpackers over the years and it still amazes me the actions and disrespect some backpackers have for others and other peoples property :( I just stayed three (separate) nights at Dorset House during a fortnights visit to N.Z. On the three separate stays the state of the kitchen left by, obviously, different groups over the three separate nights I stayed there was nothing less than appalling. I think it may be time for Dorset to invest in larger multi-language signs explaining the simple niceties of cleaning up after you cook and dine. On one night a group of people were still VERY *noisily cooking and socialising at and after midnight. Other times I couldn't bring myself to eat in the kitchen/dining area and took my fare to my room. Yukkkk! Where am I ? Oh yeah ;) Dorset is still quite well laid out, reception helpful, large lounge very comfortable and my double bed was quite acceptable. Laundry is good. However, the heavy doors in place in a lot of the rooms do make a resounding bang when opened and closed by enthusiastic room occupants. I'm sure this could be rectified. The crockery supplied in the upstairs kitchen (is there one downstairs?) was very limited and poor. I know that accomms is generally still pretty short in Christchurch with the frantic reconstruction going on but I shall definitely book/reserve well ahead in future and rather risk the noise and grotty kitchen again will pay a little more and try and get into a hotel or motor lodge. A shame as Dorset IS quite close and convenient to the Intercity bus pickup/dropoff main stop in Chch.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room as far away from the kitchen as possible would be a good start ;)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very sorry to hear that overall your stay was an average experience for you, as we strive to make our guests feel comfortable and well-cared for when staying with us at Dorset House.

Although we are glad to hear you found our reception to be helpful and you enjoyed the comfortable lounge & laundry, we are sad to hear you found the kitchen to be so dirty you felt you had to eat in your room.

Even though our kitchen is cleaned daily and we have signs with pictures on them (so that anyone should be able to understand them) we do unfortunately sometimes have guests staying who do not feel responsible for their own dishes or mess. I am afraid that this is more an attitude towards cleaning rather than a lack of understanding, but we will re-assess our signs and make any changes if needed.

We have bought a few new pots and pans last month so I am surprised to hear you have found the crockery to be limited. We will take stock and see if we need to replace or add anything so that our future guests will have enough crockery.

In regards to the doors we are unfortunately unable to make any changes to the doors themselves, as they need to close automatically according to fire regulations (so that a fire would not spread easily). What we can do is ask people to be considerate of each other.

Our team are grateful that you took the time to send feedback and communicate this to us.

Kind regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a quick overnighter - we arrived 11pm and left 8am- in a double room. Was a very pleasant stay though, lovely building in a good location. Appreciated the late check-in with a well though out system and on site parking. Only downside was a mattress that was a bit soft and noise from nearby communal kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamTurtle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear our late night check-in procedure was convenient and you enjoyed your stay! Thanks also for the feedback in regards to the mattress and noise from the kitchen. We always try to close the kitchen door at night to minimise any noise levels, but perhaps someone had popped the door open again – our apologies for this. I’m surprised to hear the mattress was soft, as our mattresses were replaced in 2012. If you could let us know which room this was we’ll be able to look into this.

We’re glad you enjoyed the location of Dorset House, our beautiful historic building and the car park. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and would love to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,901 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $23 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing