We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amross Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
$184
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$79
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$89
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$95
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
129
103
30
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
103
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parksingle roomcommon roomfree wifireception hoursexcellent kitchenlarge loungecity centrecanterbury museumcommunal kitchenold housebeautiful parkhomely feelcommunal areaselectric blanketsquiet locationbotanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 270 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a hundred years old house. The decoration just classic & fabulous & stylist.

Location: A very convenient location. Opposite Hagley park and a bus stop is in front the house. Close to Christchurch Casino and other attractions and eateries (all in walking distance).

Service: Friendly staffs. Free 100MB WiFi every night. Here usually is the last stop for backpackers, therefore a lot of free foods/stuffs.

Room: Room size is acceptable and clean. Bed is nice.

Facility: Kitchen is a little bit small but still acceptable but the dining area is too small during winter time as you can eat outside (outside the kitchen has a large open air dining area). Warm lounge.

Overall: Lovely, classic, stylist backpackers with friendly staffs and cosy bed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi! I wanted to thank you for your very kind feedback, we're really happy that you liked your stay here at Dorset House and enjoyed our building. Our house is Victorian in age and we've tried to keep with the decor of the times, we think it adds a bit of charm. :) Thanks again for responding! Kind regards, Dorset House management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. The place is very quiet, comfortable and conveniently located. The rooms are warm and the bedding is of a high standard. The only thing I feel lacked was the provision of more bathrooms on each floor. Mornings are busy and you may find yourself waiting to go for a shower. Parking is available on site, but dont depend on it as there are very few spaces and they get occupied very easily. Would love to stay here again, if I travel to ChCh on the same budget!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AkshayG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I must say that this property fall short of my expectation after reading those wonderful reviews . We stayed in a double room and was placed in a room in the annex building, means you have to walk outdoor in order to get there. The room is small , after putting your backpacks there are hardly any room to move with a flat screen tv hanging on top, which is a plus in any budget accomadations. The bathroom is just next to the room with big window facing outside but there is no heater inside which make it very cold at night. The worst part is the water heating was not functioning during our stay and we have to go to the main building for shower which is in inconvenient and freezing having to walk outdoor after the shower.
The price can be considered high but when you saw what happened around after the devastating quake and the location which is close to centre and about 15min walk the supermarket , there is nothing much to complaint about.
Overall, the property is clean. well mantained and they even allowed you to use the facilities after checkout plus free wifi which everywhere else is chargable , I will have rated higher if not for the few hiccups above.

Room Tip: Get the room in the main building.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My boyfriend and i spent one night here after a late fly-in. the room was warm, with a comfy double bed, fresh towels and a TV too. the receptionists were fantastic in organising my late check-in and organised transfers from the airport to the accommodation all via email. Dorset house is located close to the park and is within walking distance to the museum which seems to be the place for transfers! the bathrooms were clean and the kitchen seemed handy to use if you were staying for a longer period of time. Best 'Backpackers' i have stayed in so far...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGRIFF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights here before and after our stay in Queenstown and on both nights we arrived late at night. We had booked online months ago and the staff had given us the door code access way ahead of time. Upon entering the front door on both occasions, we found our key and Wifi access code in an envelope pinned to the reception desk's notice board, hence everything went smoothly. We just had to find our way to our room according to the floor map attached. Our choice of a small double room turned out to be quite cramped for 2 adults with 60-litre backpacks but it was fine for a very short stay. There were many restrooms and showers available - which is a good thing - but on the second night, the one nearest to our room (which was in the second/back block) happened to have run out of hot water, resulting in us having to hop over to the front block via an unsheltered backyard (it was drizzling and cold). Light sleepers may also be woken up by the noise from the carpark if your window opens to it. As for the common kitchen, we utilized it once and found it to be pretty well-stocked and equipped. Vic's Cafe was very nearby (exit the hostel, turn left and go down the street for about 3 minutes before crossing the road to the cafe) and the Canterbury Museum was a 15-minute stroll away (shorter if you're not carrying luggage). Overall, the hostel was pretty ok and well-suited to our budget. We also appreciate the hostel's prompt replies to our emails leading up to our arrival.

Room Tip: The small double room is best suited for one guest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews