We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amore Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amore Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here just overnight on transit and chose the location as it's only 2-3 minutes walk down the road to the Westfield Mall for shopping. The owner went out of his way to attend to our every need. I don't think I've had the owner of a hotel or motel shake my hand upon checking in - very friendly! We asked for cooking oil and he came back with a great bottle of pricey looking olive oil. The next morning he asked how our stay was while attending to cleaning the other rooms. The room was really tidy and modern. The only thing was the toilet door didn't seem to lock very well, and the bed was a bit too close to the ranch slider doors for my liking. Also, it would be nice if the laundry operating hours were a little more flexible. If you're going to stay the night in Christchurch, get some decent service and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beached_whale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We appreciate your feedback as it assists us to make improvements. That very friendly man is also the Janitor and he has just adjusted that lock on the toilet door!
Kindest Regards,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    65
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
112
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked here based on the trip advisor reviews. Was not disappointed. This motel is located on one of the main roads just outside the city centre. A very friendly, family feel to the place.

Had a clean and well laid out king room, complete with full kitchen. Would not hesitate to stay here again!

+ Friendly hosts, very helpful and aim to please.
+ Available brekkie.
+ Free parking.
+ Close to the airport.
+ Within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

- Nothing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We loved having you stay every bit as much as you enjoyed being here!
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

my husband & I have stayed at this motel on a number of occasions in the past, ideally situated for shopping & dining, it covered everything we required for location. The units have always been clean and comfortable, with excellent amenities. Recently I stayed there on my own, having to travel to christchuch from the west coast by shuttle bus due to a shoulder injury to have an MRI. This was the first time I had the opportunity to meet the owners Pauline & Steve, on previous stays we had Michelle & her husband managing the motels, an awesome, wonderful couple, whom I was sorry to miss this trip. However I can not express enough, my thanks to Pauline & Steve for their care & support in helping me with my luggage on arrival & to the bus stop when departing due to my incapacity, such a lovely couple. Thank you!! Jo

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Owner at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It always makes our day when we meet lovely people like you Jo! Hope that shoulder is improving so you can get on with life and tick some things off that bucket list.
Pauline and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently spent three nights at Amore. Everything about it was FANTASTIC! The host are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and the rooms are great, clean, warm, quiet.
Perfect place for anyone visiting Christchurch!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colejane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Kindest regards,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I recently stayed at the Amore with my parents for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location was good and the rooms were excellent - very comfortable and clean. The thing that really set this motel apart for us was the service. I don't normally write reviews but Steve and Pauline were so friendly and helpful that I felt compelled to do so. They really do go above and beyond and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegO230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Owner at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments! We are passionate about what we do and meeting people like you reinforces all the reasons why we love it so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for a total of 3 nights in two different periods during our 3 week holiday in New Zealand. We were 6, so took a two bedroom unit and a studio unit both with kitchen facilities. The people managing the facility had changed between our two visits. Both groups were very professional and helpful. Michelle initially and steve and Pauline later. The rooms were very clean and had all the facilities. The kitchen was adequate for a short stay. There is seating with table provided outside the rooms where you could sit and enjoy a cup of tea weather permitting. The heating is good and the beds were comfortable. Wifi was free and had good connectivity. We had five devices and were given separate passwords for each of those devices. Amore is walking distance from a host of restaurants and takeaways in Riccarton and is only 5 minutes walk from the westfield Mall. There is adequate parking available. We were here on the last part of our tour of New Zealand. The managers were kind enough to allow us the use of their vacuum cleaners to clean the car before returning! Thank you for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom unit will be ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 children .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Owner at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We agree we are so very fortunate to be located so close to everything one needs when away from home! Lovely restaurants, parks, and a great shopping mall.It is good to hear that our accommodation suited your family so well. We know you loved New Zealand and hope you come back again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Pauline and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife, son, daughter, son in law and grandson stayed in the upstairs 2 Bedroom units for a week as the EQC repairs to both our homes was delayed. It was fair to say we were stressed. Booking in was a breeze and upon arrival found the whole facility immaculate inside and out. All the rooms were large and despite being on Riccarton Rd quiet. The owner and his staff were so helpful (e.g wiping the morning frost off my car windows) without being in your face. Riccarton Mall and a whole range of restaurants are 2 minutes walk away. The Amore Motor Lodge restored my confidence in kiwi service and professionalism.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pritchard8024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Owner at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was truly a pleasure to have you stay. We trust you are now settled back into your home.
Steve and Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Motor Lodge

Property: Amore Motor Lodge
Address: 168 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amore Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 17 modern, stylish and comfortable self-contained units you can enjoy luxury accommodation featuring studio units and 2 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Amore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing