We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Amore Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amore Motor Lodge
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. My flight arrived at midnight, but instructions were taped on the reception window for me. The establishment is only a few years old which shows. The room was modern and impeccably clean. The housekeeping held a very high standard throughout my stay. Luckily the room had an efficient and quiet AC unit since on one day the temperature climbed above 30 centigrade. The young couple running the place were always friendly and very helpful. The location close to a shopping mall was convenient whether you prefer to cook your own meals or eat out. CBD only a short bus or taxi ride away. Can't see why you couldn't walk there if the weather permits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJSA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It means alot to us that people take the time to leave comments as we all do work very hard to try and provide a high level of service and high quality accommodation. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your trip went well for you!
Take care thanks once again,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    65
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
113
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family stayed for 2 nights. We were a little concerned by the busy road adjacent to the accommodation, but needn't have worried. The rooms were well furnished, Air Con, Sky TV and useful kitchenette.

As other posters have stated, it's close proximity to the Mall means there are plenty of places to eat in the Food Court. Not only that, there is a really comprehensive Information Pack in the room with loads of eateries listed.

Highlt recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
The time you have taken to leave us your review is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for mentioning about the rooms being quiet. We often get people who worry about the noise as Riccarton road can be busy at peak hours when people go to work. We find that once people are in the rooms the rooms are quiet. The rooms have doubled glazed windows and the building being quite new helps as well.

Once again thank you for leaving us your review we hope to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for two nights. Fantastic accommodation. Clean, comfy sofa, great beds and very clean. Close to the City, Westfield Shopping Centre and airport. Really friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahdog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your review is much appreciated and we are grateful for you taking the time to do this for us. Our team works very hard to keep the rooms up to a very high standard and this is something we like to pride ourselves on.
As you have highlighted we are also lucky to be situated close to the mall, supermarket and restaurants, this is very convenient for those without transport as everything is in walking distance.
Although we are in a central area we are lucky enough to have the quietness of the bush at the back of our property, we are lucky not to be surrounded by buildings. Best of both worlds! We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future and we thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

very easy to find location its on the main road of Riccarton road. very handy to the Westfield mall every thing is close by the supermarket is in the mall Mcdonalds ect. a wee walk up the road is a very good pub for food called The Fox and Ferret. we came up for shopping and car racing and booked a two bedroom unit, for we were 2 couples and found it very big for the four of us it had a main bedroom with queen bed and two singles and very good size lounge kitchen area a spa bath. very nicely decore in room with comforable couches table and chairs for four. very quite rooms for being on the main road. the owners were very nice and helpful it was a great stay and we will be coming back next time we are in Christchurch

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to hear you had such a great stay here with us!
We are very lucky to have lovely spacious apartments perfect for guests travelling in groups. As you pointed out we do have a prime location which accommodates everyone for all their different needs while still being in relatively close proximity.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it.We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is just the best Motel - we use this Motel when flying in from Perth WA and it is reassuring to know the note is always on the door when we arrive early hours of the morning, very reliable.
They will also oblige with a late check out if they possibly can they will so not having to rush out early at 10.00 a.m. and have an extra couple of hours is wonderful. Nothing is a bother to them they genuinely care. Accommodation very clean, beds are wonderful, comfortable.

Room Tip: Ground Floor with sliding doors to outside. 2 bedroom or studio units on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for leaving us your kind review!

It is so important when travelling at night time to know that everything is ready for you when you arrive. This is why we try and contact all guests before they arrive, when they advise us they are arriving late so they know that everything is all set up for them on their arrival.

We are so happy you found everything so convenient while staying with us. Christchurch continues to grow we hope that in the near future you’ll come back and stay with us and take a look at all the changes since you last stayed!

Thank you once again,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Decided to travel to chch to go shopping on the monday with my daughter! Rang in the morning of the Sunday and luckily they had a suitable room available so off we went, rooms are always beautifully clean and lovely, the owners are young and very good at what they do, friendly and accommodating!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much Suzie for the kind review! It is always a pleasure seeing you and the rest of the family.

We are lucky to be in such a central location that a quick trip to Christchurch for a girlie weekend of late night shopping over at the Westfield Mall is perfect for some relax time.

I hope you and your daughter had a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the motor lodge while in Christchurch for a family wedding along with numerous other family members, the rooms were perfect, modern, and spacious and provided us with everything we required, the lodge was also in a great location close to local amenities and a short bus/taxi to both airport and city centre. The management of the Amore were fantastic, going out of there way to help us all. If in Christchurch again I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It was our pleasure accommodating you and your family. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to help make the organisation of your weekend easier. We are lucky to be in such a prime location that if you don't have a car, everything is in walking distance or if you need to take a taxi most things are just a short trip away.

Thank you for you kind words, we do work hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and having comments like yours is a nice pat on the back that gives us lots of motivation to keep doing the job we love!

Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 144 in Christchurch
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Motor Lodge

Property: Amore Motor Lodge
Address: 168 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amore Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 17 modern, stylish and comfortable self-contained units you can enjoy luxury accommodation featuring studio units and 2 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Amore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing