We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for everything..”
Review of Amore Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amore Motor Lodge
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“perfect for everything..”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

my parents and i stayed here around mid january for three nights and couldnt be happier with everything.. the unit had everything we needed.. it is ideally situated within walking distance to big riccarton mall and i even walked to hagley park on one of the morning for some tranquillity exercise and nature healing.. perfect..

the motel itself was very clean and well presented, especially our wee outside area for our sneaky smokes and glasses of wine.. perfect.. the service didnt let it down one bit with a welcome which is customary in most places here in new zealand.. thank you for our lovely stay.. i will definitely be staying again on my visits back to christchurch..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelee009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    65
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
113
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
293 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroomed apt here & actually ended up with 2 bedrooms which was great as able to put luggage on floor in 2 nd room . The unit itelf is spacious & light with a good sized flaat screen TV & plenty of seating which is always appreciated. The bathroom has a lovely spa bath to relax in & the kitchen is well equipped . Within walking distance ie 100m of The Riccarton Mall with plenty of shops to browse & more importantly good coffee !
Hosts & cleaners at the motel very helpful , obliging & friendly.
Avoid the McDonalds nearby - worst one I have had the misfortune to visit - appeared short staffed & the staff do not look well trained or happy ! A long queue to get an ice cream sundae - thought was meant to be "Fast Food ! "

Room Tip: The larger, more spacious apt is tucked away in a quiet corner upstairs - it is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Very handy to everything, right across from Westfield Riccarton. Appears to be brand new. Quality decor, tiled bathroom and kitchenette. Aircon, flat screen tv, plunger coffee were all a bonus. A well thought out book of menus for local restaurants is provided. Plenty of car parks. I even had a private outdoor courtyard! Will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Christchurch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Close to airport, city and across from a Westfields. We spent one night here before an early morning flight. The room was well thought out, and lovely decorations. A small kitchen and balcony area, spacious bathroom with an adjustable shower (we have been travelling in NZ for 12 days and this was the first shower we could make high enough for us tall people!). Wifi. No wonder its always booked out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after our arrival in New Zealand and were very pleased. Room had everything we needed, efficient air conditioner (it was very hot during our stay) and very quiet despite being quite close to a busy road. Shopping Mall with large supermarket very close by and airport bus stops almost outside so very convenient. Owners were charming and most helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disleksik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were so pleased with our Tripadvisor recommended motels during our trip to New Zealand and this property is no exception. The lodge is very new and the rooms very spacious. We stayed one night and flew back home early the night before. After exploring a bit of Christchurch, we parked the car in the lot and walked down the street for a few pints at a couple local bars. After a nice relaxing hour on the outdoor patio, we ordered take away Chinese food and enjoyed it in the room with the well appointed kitchen items.

The bed was comfortable, the room very well kept and the bathroom modern and nicely designed. The location, cleanliness and spaciousness of the motel make this an easy recommendation for future travelers.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elyse1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in December the stay was very pleasant. Jose at the front desk was very accommodating since I arrived earlier than check-in. The room was great. Comfortable, clean, stylish. Bathroom was great. Fantastic water pressure and the kitchen was good. It was across the street from the mall and close to lots of Asian restaurants. I walked everywhere and it was a bit of a trek to get to the other side of Hagley Park, but was good exercise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orchid414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Motor Lodge

Property: Amore Motor Lodge
Address: 168 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amore Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 17 modern, stylish and comfortable self-contained units you can enjoy luxury accommodation featuring studio units and 2 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Amore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing