We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for!”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband, son and I travelled to New Zealand mid Oct and one of our stops was Christchurch. I had gone on Trip Advisor earlier to explore some recommendations and made a booking for Centrepoint on Colombo Motel. What a great choice!

The room was huge! We had a king-sized bed and a single for my son, 2 single leather couches, flat screen tv (with Cartoon Network as one of the channels), small dining set and a kitchenette complete with microwave oven, mini fridge, cutlery, can-opener.....everything you could need or ask for! The toilet too was spacious and had its own heater for those cold mornings and nights:) There was even a laundry room for you to get your clothes washed and dried.

Jeff and Naomi were great hosts - friendly and helpful with arrangements, and from what we got out of the room, you could tell that they have put in a lot of thought as to what a family would find useful.

When we go back to Christchurch in the future, CentrePoint on Colombo would be our choice again in a second!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    226
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
554
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fridley, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

This is one of the best places we've ever stayed, anywhere. The location is great, close to downtown but not too close. The room was excellent, spacious enough the two leather recliners in front of the TV. The best part were the owners, who were always there, always friendly, helpful, informative and concerned. They made restaurant reservations, tour reservations, helped plan travel routes and made us feel like we were long time friends. It's not surprising that this small, privately owned motel is rated #1 in Christchurch. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryFridley_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This hotel is a perfect location to anyone who wants to visit Christchurch, all amenities is at walking distance. For me the room is so good. We'll stay in this place when we visit Christchurch again.
The staff there are also really helpful, they really helped us during our trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The room was clean, nice and warm. It is very well located, close to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Can't beat the location, a short walk from Cathedral square. With free parking, it's very nice if you have a car. Friendly owners, very clean and quiet. Overall an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikes1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

On arrival we were met with very helpful staff, providing us with eating options that were available close to the motel. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean and suited our purpose. The location was close to the CBD and within walking distance of all the areas that we wanted to be close to. My family liked the quiet area. There was nothing that I thought was not up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_j_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed here for 2 non-consecutive nights. Accommodation is great, very clean, good-sized rooms. Friendly staff who immediately rectified an issue by offering us an alternate room with an upgrade. Location is very convenient with a short walk into ChCh city centre. Would definitely recommend this over hotel chains.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKexport1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing