We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location and wonderful host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great quiet location and wonderful host”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed at Centrepoint on Colombo for 4 nights during May 2009. The host, Jeff, was just wonderful. We were taken to our apartment and everything were explained to us. He also spent 20 mins explaining the major tourism attractions, location of supermarkets and restauarants to us. This is very important to us as we were travelling with our 2 years old. Jeff is also making sure he is contactable and he always greet us when we leave/ come back to the apartment.

We stayed at the Grand centrepoint suite which is the 2 bedroom apartment with spa. The apartment is clean and well equipped. We get daily service in our room and things get supplemented. The apt is very spacious and great for young children. Newspaper is complementary in the morning. The apt has 3 heaters so we can make sure each room is warmed up during winter time. The property is also just 5 mins walk to the free city shuttle bus stop. The location is quiet so it's great for family with young children.

I believe the cost of the apt is reasonable considering the service we received. I will recommend anyone to stay at this apartment.

The only problem I see is there were no stoves/ oven in the apartment so the only way you can cook is using the microwave.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    229
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
556
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Geoff and Naomi proprietors very friendly and helpful, they will go out of their way to help. Our room was very good, clean and well kept. Close walk to city centre. Very helpful with tours. If you have your own car plenty of parking. Would recommend to anyone. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2008

We stayed here as a large group attending a conference at the nearby conference centre. You cannot fault the location of this motel, it is a short walk to the conference centre and Town Hall and a slightly longer walk (10-15min) to the centre of the city. Not far up the street is a wide range of restaurants.

There are a variety of rooms to suit everyone from the sole traveller, couple or even a family. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with everything you'd expect to find.

Jeff, the owner, is friendly and extremely helpful. He went out of his way to make our group feel very much at home. All of us said we'd definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Liked — location, comfort and Jeff!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2_tui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Centrepoint in September '08.We have travelled a fair bit in Europe, US, Australia and New Zealand.This place had everything. Spacious,clean and comfortable rooms(add to this a great television, music system and wine and champagne glasses in the cupboard !) The owner Jeff and his wife Naomi were great hosts.The rooms were very comfortable with all the amenities you look for when travelling .Jeff was more than happy to organise tours for us. We won't look anywhere else when we return to Christchurch.Please do not be misled by one of the earlier reviews which says"No credibility at all" The place was under a different management then.
Dr Martin George and Donna George
UK
drgmartin@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Hospitality Cleanliness comforts and value for money
  • Disliked — Everything about this place was good
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Centrepoint on Combo is real gem. It is in a great location (easy 5-10 min stroll to city shopping & eateries), has newly refurbished units and owners Jeff and Naomi couldn't be lovelier.

The rooms are of a good size with all the essentials - tea/coffee supplies, safe, iron & ironing board, hair dryer. I like the fact that in their recent redecorating they have deviated from the boring blandness that most properties go for. Colour yay - but not too dark to be overpowering.

The rooms seem to be well soundproofed as although I was aware that the room next door was occupied I never heard a peep.

Shame I was only there for one night and I would definitely stay there again and recommend the property to all. I was in Christchurch for business but I also consider Centrepoint on Colombo suitable for couples and families on holiday.

  • Liked — Decor, location and service
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nix_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing