We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

we rented a 2-bhk apartment which had well equipped kitchen. location is excellent, and owners are very friendly and accomodating. we enjoyed the free wi-fi, which was great help. they also arranged taxi services for us without any hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjk_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. You stayed while our gateway system was broken and we had a "no password" hotspot for the benefit of guests. It was an "honesty box" system and most people paid. We have a high quality internet system and therefore ask for guests to pay $5 per day for internet. It is not free.
Hello Srjk_slash and thanks for the review. Great to see you loved the kitchenette even though its just the microwave & tea/coffee making facilities. Great for preparing a lite lunch or breakfast! Great to see you also like our Heart of Christchurch location and our various guest services - making sure everyone feels welcome and comfortable. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    229
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
556
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely establishment not far from the city centre (what's left of it). Rooms are to a very high standard with everything you'd expect, and a lot more. Owners are very friendly and happy to help with eating recommendations, etc

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JONATHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Jon B and thanks for the review. And thanks for summing up the main points - we're close to town, we're good, and we enjoy helping our guests finding what we need. Great to see you liked it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We reserved the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel in Christchurch before we left Canada for our stay in Christchurch. We chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor recommendations, and were not disappointed! It had been nearly 20 years since we've been to Christchurch, and as we were spending a week in the Wanaka area, decided to spend a night and see the city on our way to Australia.
The 'devastation' in the downtown area from the 2 earthquakes was sadly amazing! From the location of the motel, we were easily able to walk thru some of this area. The motel was just beyond the edge of this major damage, and the friendly and helpful owners provided us with maps, recommendations of places to see, restaurants and bars, things to do etc. in our short time there. Their establishment did not receive any major damage, just cosmetic damage...costly enough on it's own.
Our room was very well appointed and equipped. The web site photos are very accurate. We enjoyed the leather lounge chairs, there was a very comfortable bed with great linens and supplies, a 'jet tub', small patio and in general, just very well thought out and maintained throughout with guests in mind! We enjoyed the free WiFi and they had a great Sky TV selection as well...pretty much everything we would expect in a 'quality' accommodation!
We arranged shuttle transfers to / from the airport with the owners when booking, a 'very' convenient and hassle free way to do this...recommended.
We enjoyed our stay, and seeing Christchurch after their tragedy! The city is making a great effort to rebuild and recover. Amazing to see!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pjston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. You stayed while our gateway system was broken and we had a "no password" hotspot for the benefit of guests. It was an "honesty box" system and most people paid. We have a high quality internet system and therefore ask for guests to pay $5 per day for internet. It is not free.
Hello pjston and thanks for the in-depth review. Yes, we are just beyond the area of major damage in the city centre - we were very lucky to only have cosmetic damage which is all repaired now. Best of all great to see you were not disappointed and you felt our website photos were accurate. Great to see you made use of the various services we offered. Come see Christchurch again in 5-10 years to see what we've done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This motel is apparently the first building from the city centre that wasn’t destroyed by the 2011 Earthquake.
Location wise it is fantastic – a mere 15 minute away from the old City centre, which is currently reminiscent of a ghost town. It’s quite a depressing walk and you can feel the pain the city has been through. But it is also a walk that makes you realise that life is short so make the most of it while you can.
Regarding the Motel, it is not number 1 without any reason, and I cant find a reason why it should not be at the top – clean, modern rooms, spacious, and the host was informative, honest and simply put, a great host!
Can’t recommend this enough, if you are at Christchurch

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello varun_mukthi and thanks so much for the review. Yes, coming north out of Cathedral Square, we are the first building that did not get either destroyed, or closed for over a year for repairs. Yes, we were lucky to escape with just cosmetic damage. Thanks for recognising our location and that we, as hosts were good hosts cos that's what we try to do. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Travel should be about learning. We chose CentrePoint on Colombo because of its good TA rating, and generally most positive comments, and having done so then just turned up to explore Christchurch.

Upon arrival I found I had mucked up reservation (my fault entirely), and so we were not expected. Luckily a room was available, and so that problem was quickly averted. But I guess it gave us a bit of a basis for a chat with proprietor Jeff, which quickly morphed into him providing an overview of Christchurch as it presently is, supplying maps of places to walk and see, and generally discussing what it is like to live in Christchurch in its post disaster/recovery phase. I sense that Jeff does this for everyone, but I certainly felt special as a result of his attention – and it is certainly not “normal” in my experience for a motel proprietor to spend maybe 30 minutes explaining his town to visitors. So this was a level of service and attention well beyond my expectations. And from here came the learning – whilst we spent just a few (waking) hours in Christchurch, I felt I learned a lot about the city, its current situation, and its future plans. Clearly not everything, obviously, but a lot, and in no small way thanks to Jeff.

The CentrePoint on Colombo is itself very comfortable, in line with the standard I would expect of a place of this type. The rooms are well appointed and clean. It is located right on the edge of the “red zone”, that part of Christchurch which was most badly damaged I the 2011 earthquake, and which is largely being demolished and re-built. That makes it well accessible to town, and fundamentally interesting in its own right. Various restaurants are nearby.

I happily recommend CentrePoint on Colombo to any prospective visitor/traveller. I would readily stay again (and probably will).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello Peter C and thanks for the long long review!! Yes, we did have a long chat which happens when it happens, so to speak. Some quests just want the "cow and key" version whereas others, like yourselves show an interest and are willing to take te time to learn - cos that's what travel is all about. We don't mind taking the time and sharing with our guests, if we can help the learning process along, and have a good chat along the way then that's ok with us.
Thanks for liking our rooms and yes we are only 1 block from the area of town previously known as the Red Zone but we are fine and therefore a great springboard to go see the city! W have over 30 dining options within a 10 minute walk - one of the best selections in all Christchurch!!
Thanks for the recommendation and we do look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we fly out to Australia tomorrow. This place is fine, has a safe in the room, micro, fridge, tea and coffee, toaster, great comforts for the traveler. Internet is 5$ for 1200 megabites.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We do not offer free wifi. Our wifi is $5 per day. BUT the limit is not 1200 megabites. We offer a limit of 10gb. We find this is more than enough for everyone.
Hello Morcella and thanks for the review after staying with us on the lst night of your holiday. Great to see you found so many aspects of the room to your liking. And yes, we are Quiet,Clean, Friendly and Helpful - thaNks for the recognition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This motel has great reviews by many travelers. It was as reviewed. The owners provided personal service when we arrived. They even have made for visitors a 2 page map with locations and a list of local top restaurants, stores of several types, pharmacies. They discuss what to see and do and even make reservations for local attractions and serve as a wealth of area information. The room was quiet during the night and luckily most construction was done on the street in front of the motel. It is only a few blocks from some good restaurants and 0.5 to 1 mile from most Christchurch sights and other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello there Jemi D and thanks for the review and thanks for mentioning that you found us just as you though you would after reading our previous reviews on TripAdvisor. That is great to hear! WE find that those guests who come with a knowledge of where they are coming to (esp in terms of accommodation) are the ones who get the most out of their stay. The construction road works are all finished outside the motel now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing