We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even better than a 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just spent the past 2 nights at CentrePoint on Colombo and can't rate it high enough... I do a lot of travelling in NZ, Australia and overseas and compare CentrePoint to a very high standard hotel where you pay way much more for all the "special " touches... Also , as a coffee lover, great to have a plunger and coffee supplied ... Thank you for all the extra's...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us Susan B and thanks for the review! Very pleasing to see that you were able to appreciate the special touches in our rooms. It is pleasing to see these services recieve accolades from someone who has travelled widely. You won't get 24hr room service here but we do think that our guest service is right up there with the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    224
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
549
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised when accidentally put on the other side of town from the next mornings meeting. Clean and spacious with sky in full so you could pick and choose. Just like being at home and the service from the friendly owners superb. Stay here if you get a chance it's pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for the review Northcross. I recall your first impression in reception when you mentioned that you are on the wrong side of town so we are more than pleased to see that you were able to enjoy your stay to the extent you have recommended that others stay here! We are in the centre of Chrtistchurch and so not so close to areas on the outskirts but we do have many corporate quests like yourselves who are more than happy driving here because they know they'll get a great nights sleep with great guest services, as you have testified to. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The CentrePoint on Colombo Motel was a comfortable and welcoming motel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone intending on travelling to Christchurch. In particular, Jeff provided us with great service and recommended some fantastic eateries - he really made us feel right at home. The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean, incredibly cosy, and include an array of amenities. I thank CentrePoint for a great stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Camryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello there Camryn C and thank you for the review. Great to see you throughly enjoyed and made full use of our style of hospitality as well as fiding the room to be cosy in the winter and clean!! Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

On our way to the ski slopes, I decided to stay over with my two boys in Christchurch at the start of the week. Reading the tripadvisor comments, I decided to book the CentrePoint on Colombo.

Arriving after midnight, the key to the room was where the confirmation e-mail said it was. The room was perfect and we of course crashed peacefully into a deep sleep. The next morning, Jeff told us what to see and where to go for brunch starting our 1 day in Christchurch. Vey helpful and we had a great day. The location of the hotel is ideal to walk into town and spend the day. The room was spacious, good shower and had all the necessities for either a short or long stay.

I've decided to book the hotel again on our return trip to Sydney, and organized tickets for the Crusaders - Highlander game. Arriving quite late on Friday from Mount Hutt, Jeff offered us a ride to and from the game, which really shows the hospitable character of Jeff & Naomi. Definitely our place to stay again when visiting Christchurch!

Joop, Niels & Jesse Gerlach from Sydney

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Joop G and thanks for the review and for staying with us for both the first & last night of your skiing trip! Great to see you enjoyed our style of hospitality. As for the ride to the Rugby - you forgot to mention that it was because we were going anyway! While we do offer great service everyday, it does not extend to rides around town unless we are already going that way which is usually a once in a blue moon occurance. Overall great to hear you all enjoyed your stay in Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after arriving in Christchurch from Sydney. The owners were very friendly and helpful throughout our 3 night stay, even helping when my luggage didn't arrive from Sydney! The room was very nice, spacious and had a clean bathroom and mini kitchen. It was a quick walk to the town centre and there were a few nice restaurants around the area too.
This place was a great place to start and I'll recommend it to friends who are thinking of coming to nz!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Andrei G and thanks for the review. Great to see you were pleased with our style of hospitality and managed to cope without baggage. Great to see that it did eventually get to you! Wonderful too see that you were overall happy with your choice of accommodation and are willing to reccommend us to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've recently stayed at Centrepoint on Colombo as part of a 2 week holiday in the South Island of NZ. We were both very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the motel. The facilities in our rooms (we spent 2 nights in different rooms at each end of our holiday) were fantastic- microwave, bowls, kettle, mugs, tea cups, coffee plunger and complimentary coffee!! We were pleasantly surprised to find all the soaps and detergents in the room and bathroom to be environmentally friendly, and after reading the comprehensive motel guide prepared by Jeff and Naomi we discovered that they have taken many measures to ensure that the motel is as eco friendly as possible. You are encouraged to sort rubbish from recycling, and there is even a place provided for green waste!
Jeff and Naomi are not only meticulous about the cleanliness of their establishment, they are also friendly, of good humour and extremely helpful. We will stay at the Centrepoint on Colombo should we return to the beautiful and inspiring city of Christchurch, and would recommend it to others without hesitation.
Luca & Meg (Melbourne, AUS)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello LucaLuigi and thank you for the comprehensive review after staying with us at both ends of your holiday! Yes you did get to try 2 of our rooms and thanks for reading thru the compendium guest info and finding out about what we do to earn our Enviro Silver Qualmark award. Great to see you also enjoyed our sense of humour - was great talking to you so much! Yes! Please do come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Centrepoint on Colombo was our first nights accommodation on our 10 driving holiday around the South Island. We were warmly greet by Jeff on arrival who was very helpful with city information and advice.

The room itself was clean and we immediately felt at home. The bed was very comfortable to!
We were in close proximity to a supermarket, tavern, great fish & chip shop!
Absolutely recommend Centrepoint on Colombo to anyone visiting Christchurch!

Thanks to Jeff for giving us a great start on our 10 day trip around the South Island. We had an absolute blast!

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs, at the back of the complex which faced Colombo Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seashelly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi seashelly9 and thanks for the review after staying with us at the start of your South Island holiday. Thanks for the comments about the bed - we spend the time to take care of our beds! Great to see you enjoyed the local are including hte great lil' Fish 'n Chips shop! Hope you had a great trip around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing