We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond impressed :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful CentrePoint was for us. We had some significant delays getting in and didn't arrive until well past the close of check in time. Not only did the owner stay up to greet us, he was incredibly welcoming, took us to our room to show us around, had welcome cookies waiting, and was generally amazingly kind. After a very long day this was the best possible end. The room was spotless and I would stay there again in a heartbeat (and I'm picky!). Outstanding service and an impeccable example of why New Zealand is one of the best places to travel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sycamore_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Great to see that you were Beyond Impressed :) Sycamore_13! That you found the room to be spotless is pleasing. We don't stay up for all the late arivals but we always try to greet everyone cheerfully! That you said we were generally amazingly kind is humbling. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 957 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

One of the most comfortable hotels/motels we have stayed at. Great sized room with fantastic living area (kitchenette/lounge room). Loved having the bedroom upstairs which gave us some much needed time apart. The rooms and premises were spotless, and the beds so comfortable.

Jeff and his family are fantastic hosts, he takes the time to explain everything a list of food places still operating to which bus to take which is really helpful in this city which is still trying to find its feet. Jeff's enthusiasm inspires his guests and we just felt so comfortable around his family and other guests.

I note one of the other reviewers mentioned a downside of no free internet. This is something I have noticed is standard practice across most Australian and NZ hotels/motels, however at $5 for 24 hours I was more than happy to pay.

Thanks for our personalised email after our staying. It was such a lovely thought.

Overall, a great place to stay and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rydelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi rydelocal and tanks for the review. Great to see you loved the One Bedroom Apartment and that you loved that the beds were so comfortable! Great to see you loved our style of hospitality. As for the internet, we provide a quality service, $5 for 24hrs of unlmited, unthrottle internet and for that you get up to 2 access passes. We find that most guests are comfortable paying for a quality service.
Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at the CentrePoint on Colombo and was more than pleased. Right from the very friendly and helpful welcome from the owner, Jeff, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. The motel is very clean, well appointed, fresh and modern. It is a comfortable walk to the centre of Christchurch...or what is left of it after the earthquakes. I felt very relaxed and comfortable during my stay. Due to earthquake damage places to eat and shop are hard to find but Jeff was most helpful providing maps and information to assist. I would certainly stay at CentrePoint again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samatjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi samatjac and thanks for staying for 4 nights. We do try our best to make sure everyone can find their way around Christchurch and that is important to us. Great to see that it was useful to you. Thanks for the review and highly recommending us, much appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here one night and were very pleased. The owners were very friendly with lots of helpful advice for our time in Christchurch. We were upgraded to a larger room - the room itself was comfortable and well appointed with a kitchenette. The motel was in walking distance to downtown and multiple restaurants. Highly recommended. The only minor complaint was no free internet, but that wasn't really an issue for our short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi there ascaf and thanks for the review. Some people are lucky and do get a free room upgrade so we hope you enjoyed yours! Great to see you loved the room and its kitchenette. No, the internet is not free because it is a quality system and it works! We just ask for $5 for 24hrs of unlimited unthrottled acces for up to 2 machines. Thanks for staing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed two nights on two separate occasions during our trip to New Zealand and have to say this is a good motel experience. The motel is situated near to the red zone and also handy for city sights. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean and well equipped. Jeff the owner provided us with location map showing the red zone and also a helpful list of places to eat. Jeff and his wife were helpful and arranged our airport shuttle and even provided scales to check our luggage weight.
There is a good, efficient laundry on site at reasonable cost. Altogether a good experience and typical of how the people of Christchurch are making visitors welcome to the city despite the earthquake devastation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank South-east-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hello there South-east-travels and thanks for staying with us twice!Yes we are/were close to the red zone which is now shrinking everyday! Yes, we do try to make everyone's visit to Christchurch as positive as possible and one of the centrepieces of our style of hospitality is providing full info on what is available. Thanks for enjoying staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the red zone in downtown Christchurch. An easy walk. We were met by Jeff, the owner, who was a great help He answered all our questions, gave us some great suggestions and of course directions. The city still has a ways to go, but the people of Christchurch are working hard at it. The hotel was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nothing fancy, just what we needed

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMESG883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi there JAMESG883 and thanks for the review. Great to see that our service was of a great help to your visit to Christchurch. Please comeback to see us again in a few years to see where our broken city has gotten too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owners made us feel like special family friends staying in their guest house. The bed linens were clean, crisp, fresh smelling ( these things are important!) and the room had everything we needed to make our stay more than pleasant. More important, my husband and I observed Jeff treating the other guests like THEY were the family favorites.
Jeff spent time with us as we requested an evening walk to better understand the rebuild process of Christchurch. He pointed out improvements and landmarks to watch for which were very helpful.
Being adventurous eaters we had plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance and had a great meal at an Indian restaurant 2 blocks away.
The previous Tripadvisor reviewers are correct. The owners have set the bar very high for other motel owners not only in New Zealand but around the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hello MN4ME and thanks for the overall wrapup on the review. You just about covered everything and great to see you were comfortable naming your review “Finally! A FABULOUS night's sleep.”
Thanmks for the comment " More important, my husband and I observed Jeff treating the other guests like THEY were the family favorites." cos that is one of the things we do, mostly naturally.
Thanks for saying that we have set the bar high, we'll work hard to keep it there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing