We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spacious room, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Great night sleep in a comfortable bed with top quality bed linen. Very central location with parking and easy to get to from the airport. Very helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSO15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello JulieO255060 and thanks you for taking the time to review us after your stay with us. Great to see you found the room spacious and clean. Our housekeeping staff do take pride in keeping the rooms clean. Great to hear that you did get a great nights sleep and found our location in the heart of Christchurch but also easily accessible to the airport. Thanks for staying and liking our style of hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    224
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
549
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just spent 5 days at the centrepoint on colombo and had a fantastic time. The rooms are spacious and very well laid out. Great selection of cable chanels, spotless room and bathroom. Little kitchen with microwave, fridge and well stocked crockery and cutlery. You could easily prepare a meal but we chose to dine out as there is a great selection of eateries within walking distance. As said before, the reviews speak for themselves this is a great motel. Thank you jeff and naomi for such a wonderful wee trip, you have a great family business and should be very proud

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello there chilifan m and thanks for your review so soon after heading off home after your 5 night stay with us. Thanks for loving the various things in the rooms and the rooms themselves - esp the room size of your Standard Studio! Yes our kitchenettes are great for making lite meals but we do have a great range of reasonable restaurants around the motel - especially a really great little Indian restaurant!! Thanks for coming to stay and thanks for making the most of the services we offer. Thank you, we're glad we could be a little part of your visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were given a really small room which fit our bed and our luggage - but barely! Wifi is really cheap and quick. Loved the spa bath in the ensuite. Walking distance to the old centre square. Bed was a little uncomfy but service was friendly and helpful.

Would recommend a short stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PerthFoodJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello there Natalie T and thanks for the review after your one night stay with us the other night! Thanks for Loving our wifi which is cheap & quick! Thanks for Loving the (single) spa bath in the ensuite! Great to see you Loved being close to the city centre. If you Love soft beds, then no you would not Love ours - they are firm types - many people Love them for that! As for the room, we did not "give it to you," this Mini Studio with Spa Bath is the room you booked yourself online. Yes, its small - just 20 square metres of magic and we state that clearly online. Yes luggage can be interesting but we clearly state online that guests with large luggage should not book this room and should not stay in this room for more then 3 nights. Its a great room and can be Loved heaps when its used in the right way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night in a very comfortable, clean, tidy studio unit. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and very helpful with points of interest and where to go....what roads were open etc etc. Location was great and within walking distance to restaurants and cbd. Had a lovely dinner in the "Town Ball" one of many recommendations of the host on where to eat. A very helpful map prepared by hosts of post earthquake cbd etc was extremely thoughtful and helpful and appreciated. Would recommend this motel just for service alone. Enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeviCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello PeviCo and thanks you for taking the time to review us after your one night stay with us. Glad that you found our intro to post quake Christchurch, including the latest & greatest places to go & see, useful. Also great to hear you made good use of our other hints for your trip over the Peninsular. The Town Ball is a great place to eat - great that you could experience the uniqueness of it! Thanks for liking our post quake map, and our style of hospitality. It was a pleaseure to be able to help you enjoy your weekend in and around Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radevormwald, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for our first night in new zealand in this motel. Here we could relax after our long trip from Germany. It was very clean and quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello Denis1983 and thank you for reviwing our accommodation offer. Great to see that we were an oasis where you could relax and unwind from the trip from Germany and that you were then ready to head out and explore New Zealand. Great to see you like our style of hospitality and the rooms clean and quiet. Enjoy New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was very nicely decorated and had a nice kitchenette and two comfy upholstered chairs. The owners were helpful and the location was convenient, walking distance to Hagley Park and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_W_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi there Olga_W_1 and thank you for the review. We are pleased to see that you found all aspects of your stay with us pleasing. We are glad that you liked our style of hospitality and also found that you could easily walk to Hagley Park, restaurants and other central city areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great little place only a short walk from the (current red zone) cbd.
Rooms are niceand spacious and easily heated in a short time. Recliner chairs are an added bonus to relax in after a day of walking around Christchurch. Single spa baths was also a bonus after long walks.
This place is family run and they do aim to please, we arrived early and were able to leave bags whilst we headed into town. Were provided with a map of what to do and where....the information given was far better than that of the cities isite centre!
Fantastic little place and warm/friendly staff. Do recommend and will stay again if ever in
Christchurch again.

Room Tip: Ask reception where to go and whats worth seeing/doing and save yourself the trip to isite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirst A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi there Kirst A and thank you for taking the time to review us. Great to see you found the extras - leather recliners & single spa bath in the Deluxe Studios a bonus after those long walks around the Garden City. Yes, it is our family that runs the motel and we keep up with what's happening round town and a part of that is info the kids bring home to us! All this combines to allow us to present up to date information about what's good, new and not so good in Christchurch - which may well be rather different from the way the i-site offers tourist information. "Fantastic little place and warm/friendly staff" - awwwww thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing