We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$134
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$110
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$153
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$79
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$110
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$81
$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveler rating
714
237
22
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
237
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjeff naomicentre pointcity centrenew zealandsouth islandthe owner managerwithin walking distancedvd playershort walklittle touchesrooms are spaciouswould definitely stay here againgreat hostsvictoria streetstayed here for nightsgreat place to stayvisiting christchurch
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 984 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Centrepoint on Colombo twice during a recent trip to New Zealand & were very impressed by friendly service & well appointed rooms. Although initially daunting to see work being done on the driveway & carpet strips leading to reception, it was soon apparent that the cleanliness & comfort of the rooms more than compensated. The owners could not have been more friendly & helpful & absolutely made our time in Christchurch happy & enjoyable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hello Julia R and thanks for the review and thanks for staying with us twice during your travels here. Yes the strips of multi coloured "Red Carpet" were a little bit of a challenge as we had the carpark resealed as a part of our earthquake repairs but it is all complete now as you will be able to see on the motel face book page. Glad that while the Red Carpet was a little, well you know, you likedthe cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. Great to see that you enjoyed our style of hospitality. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel for five nights and were more than happy with the deluxe studio room we chose. There was a king size bed, two recliner chairs and still plenty of room to spread out. All the rooms we saw were of the same high quality and well appointed. The owners, Naomi and Jeff, also made sure our stay was relaxing and treated us more like good friends than motel guests. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe studio with spa bath as we were there for five nights. Well worth the cost.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello there happytrippers and thanks for taking the time to review us. And your review has recieved 2 helpful votes as well. You guys had a great plan for your 5 night stay in Christchurch and it was a pleaseure being able to assist in a few ways while you were with us. Great that you liked the size of the rooms and the appointments they have. And geat to see you loved our style of hospitality. Thank you for highly recommending our motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 for a few nights before we flew back home. The hotel owners were incredibly helpful in pointing out things to do and see in light of the earthquake a few months prior to our stay in Christchurch. The rooms were fantastic and the hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants. We would definitely stay here again as it was one of the best places we've stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: Anywhere in this place is great, but try for the 1st floor for a bit of a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RationalHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello RationalHaze and thanks for taking the time to review us in October for your stay in August. Thanks for staying with us for the final part of your holiday. Great to see you liked the info we were offering so that guests can make the best of their stay in post-quake Christchurch. Wow! "rooms were fantastic" - great to hear! Wonderful to read in your review that our motel was one of the best places you've stayed anywhere. That is very nice to hear! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

In general terms the place is clean, really spacious and well places in the city. We want walking everywere.
The bed was immense and great for our jet lag.
I have to say that we forgot our passport in the room and went back after a while with no problem retrieving it back, really accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us - via your mobile device - in October for your stay with us back in March! I think I do remember you coming back to get your passports! Great to hear you found pur rooms to be clean, really spacious and in a place where you could easily walk everywhere. Glad that you loved the bed and that it helped chase away that horrible jetlag so you could get on and enjoy your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are so happy we spent 2 days at The CentrePoint Colombo during our NZ holiday. The rooms were large and the motel was in a great location. Jeff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The motel is a family run business that you can tell they care deeply about. We appreciated this experience so much more than if we had stayed in a larger hotel. I definitely recommend staying here during your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bley91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us for 2 days and thank you for taking the time to review us. Great that you like the rooms and their size and found our brand of hospitality both friendly and helpful. Yes we are just a small 12 room motel but that does allow us to look after our guests the way they want to be looked after (does come with a few exceptions though! sadly we are not able to do everything!)
We are glad that you were happy with your chioce of choosing a smaller motel than a larger accommodation provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews