We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional motel in Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Centrepoint on Colombo twice during a recent trip to New Zealand & were very impressed by friendly service & well appointed rooms. Although initially daunting to see work being done on the driveway & carpet strips leading to reception, it was soon apparent that the cleanliness & comfort of the rooms more than compensated. The owners could not have been more friendly & helpful & absolutely made our time in Christchurch happy & enjoyable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hello Julia R and thanks for the review and thanks for staying with us twice during your travels here. Yes the strips of multi coloured "Red Carpet" were a little bit of a challenge as we had the carpark resealed as a part of our earthquake repairs but it is all complete now as you will be able to see on the motel face book page. Glad that while the Red Carpet was a little, well you know, you likedthe cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. Great to see that you enjoyed our style of hospitality. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 967 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the CentrePoint on Colombo Motel for five nights and were more than happy with the deluxe studio room we chose. There was a king size bed, two recliner chairs and still plenty of room to spread out. All the rooms we saw were of the same high quality and well appointed. The owners, Naomi and Jeff, also made sure our stay was relaxing and treated us more like good friends than motel guests. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe studio with spa bath as we were there for five nights. Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello there happytrippers and thanks for taking the time to review us. And your review has recieved 2 helpful votes as well. You guys had a great plan for your 5 night stay in Christchurch and it was a pleaseure being able to assist in a few ways while you were with us. Great that you liked the size of the rooms and the appointments they have. And geat to see you loved our style of hospitality. Thank you for highly recommending our motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 for a few nights before we flew back home. The hotel owners were incredibly helpful in pointing out things to do and see in light of the earthquake a few months prior to our stay in Christchurch. The rooms were fantastic and the hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants. We would definitely stay here again as it was one of the best places we've stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: Anywhere in this place is great, but try for the 1st floor for a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RationalHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello RationalHaze and thanks for taking the time to review us in October for your stay in August. Thanks for staying with us for the final part of your holiday. Great to see you liked the info we were offering so that guests can make the best of their stay in post-quake Christchurch. Wow! "rooms were fantastic" - great to hear! Wonderful to read in your review that our motel was one of the best places you've stayed anywhere. That is very nice to hear! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

In general terms the place is clean, really spacious and well places in the city. We want walking everywere.
The bed was immense and great for our jet lag.
I have to say that we forgot our passport in the room and went back after a while with no problem retrieving it back, really accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us - via your mobile device - in October for your stay with us back in March! I think I do remember you coming back to get your passports! Great to hear you found pur rooms to be clean, really spacious and in a place where you could easily walk everywhere. Glad that you loved the bed and that it helped chase away that horrible jetlag so you could get on and enjoy your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are so happy we spent 2 days at The CentrePoint Colombo during our NZ holiday. The rooms were large and the motel was in a great location. Jeff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The motel is a family run business that you can tell they care deeply about. We appreciated this experience so much more than if we had stayed in a larger hotel. I definitely recommend staying here during your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bley91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us for 2 days and thank you for taking the time to review us. Great that you like the rooms and their size and found our brand of hospitality both friendly and helpful. Yes we are just a small 12 room motel but that does allow us to look after our guests the way they want to be looked after (does come with a few exceptions though! sadly we are not able to do everything!)
We are glad that you were happy with your chioce of choosing a smaller motel than a larger accommodation provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

superb services provided no matter what you requested for, thank for the wonderful experience in new zealand. the owner very helpful in providing information on car rental, hotel advice, restaurants and etc. instructions is provided well for hotel check in even during mid night or check out early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yiktsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello Yiktsay h and thanks for staying with us! Great to hear you found our service "superb" and for you there was the added on "no matter what you requested." Yes, we do try to help everyone as much as we can but there is the odd limitation sometimes! And yes, late night arrivals and early departures are absolutely no problem so long as we know about them in advance! We do go to sleep at night! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here at the end of a snowboarding trip. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, got a full run down of where to go and most importantly of where not to go in the red zone.
The spa bath was a great relief to the weary muscles after the snow too!!
Thanks very much and will recommend to my friends for sure

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for the rview and thanks for staying with us at the end of your snowboard holiday kumfussa. Great to hear you liked our inner city information about where is good, and not so good to go to and that you also enjoy soaking in the tub once you got home! By all means, please reccommend us to your friends - that would be really appreciated!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $97 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing