We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #6 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

In general terms the place is clean, really spacious and well places in the city. We want walking everywere.
The bed was immense and great for our jet lag.
I have to say that we forgot our passport in the room and went back after a while with no problem retrieving it back, really accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us - via your mobile device - in October for your stay with us back in March! I think I do remember you coming back to get your passports! Great to hear you found pur rooms to be clean, really spacious and in a place where you could easily walk everywhere. Glad that you loved the bed and that it helped chase away that horrible jetlag so you could get on and enjoy your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 965 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are so happy we spent 2 days at The CentrePoint Colombo during our NZ holiday. The rooms were large and the motel was in a great location. Jeff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The motel is a family run business that you can tell they care deeply about. We appreciated this experience so much more than if we had stayed in a larger hotel. I definitely recommend staying here during your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bley91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us for 2 days and thank you for taking the time to review us. Great that you like the rooms and their size and found our brand of hospitality both friendly and helpful. Yes we are just a small 12 room motel but that does allow us to look after our guests the way they want to be looked after (does come with a few exceptions though! sadly we are not able to do everything!)
We are glad that you were happy with your chioce of choosing a smaller motel than a larger accommodation provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

superb services provided no matter what you requested for, thank for the wonderful experience in new zealand. the owner very helpful in providing information on car rental, hotel advice, restaurants and etc. instructions is provided well for hotel check in even during mid night or check out early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yiktsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello Yiktsay h and thanks for staying with us! Great to hear you found our service "superb" and for you there was the added on "no matter what you requested." Yes, we do try to help everyone as much as we can but there is the odd limitation sometimes! And yes, late night arrivals and early departures are absolutely no problem so long as we know about them in advance! We do go to sleep at night! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here at the end of a snowboarding trip. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, got a full run down of where to go and most importantly of where not to go in the red zone.
The spa bath was a great relief to the weary muscles after the snow too!!
Thanks very much and will recommend to my friends for sure

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for the rview and thanks for staying with us at the end of your snowboard holiday kumfussa. Great to hear you liked our inner city information about where is good, and not so good to go to and that you also enjoy soaking in the tub once you got home! By all means, please reccommend us to your friends - that would be really appreciated!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

They were very Hospitable, friendly and helpful :)
They were flexible in check ins and check outs, as we had to arrive very early on a Saturday morning everything was ready for us as we got to the motel, complete with instructions, milk and cookies ready as well :)

Thank you for a comfortable stay at the motel
Hope that more people who travel to Christchurch get to stay at your humble and friendly place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi there Kenneth G and thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to hear you found us hospitable, friendly and helpful. Also great to hear that you found our method of late arrival convinient. You are most welcome, thanks for coming to stay we also hope that more people come to stay with us in the centre of Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was travelling with friends and enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay in the clean, comfortable room that had all the facilities needed for tired travellers. The genial host and helpful advice on what to do on a whistle stop tour made all of the difference.Thank you and highly recommended :-)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello there BruceSheppy and thanks for taking the time to review us after your overnight stay with us. Great to hear that we were able to help you make the most out of your short stay in Christchurch. We like to make sure that even if your Christchurch visit is a short one you can walk easily to the main points in a short time! next time please stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Christchurch at this motel. The rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable and had no problems at all getting an excellent nights sleep. The kitchenette and other facilities were also provided to a high standard.

I also appreciated the obvious commitment by the owners to run their business in an eco friendly way in contract to some "corporate" hotels I've stayed in.

Jeff and Naomi were very hospitable and friendly hosts and I would definitely stay here again in the future and would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hello MartinP49 and thanks for the review. Great to hear you got a sound sleep in the room you found spacious, warm and comfortable. Great to see you liked our eco efforts as well - thanks! Jeff and Naomi thank you and we look forward to having the pleasure of your future customerage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#9 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing