We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Zealand 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Zealand 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

They were very Hospitable, friendly and helpful :)
They were flexible in check ins and check outs, as we had to arrive very early on a Saturday morning everything was ready for us as we got to the motel, complete with instructions, milk and cookies ready as well :)

Thank you for a comfortable stay at the motel
Hope that more people who travel to Christchurch get to stay at your humble and friendly place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi there Kenneth G and thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to hear you found us hospitable, friendly and helpful. Also great to hear that you found our method of late arrival convinient. You are most welcome, thanks for coming to stay we also hope that more people come to stay with us in the centre of Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    223
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
153
545
66
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I was travelling with friends and enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay in the clean, comfortable room that had all the facilities needed for tired travellers. The genial host and helpful advice on what to do on a whistle stop tour made all of the difference.Thank you and highly recommended :-)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello there BruceSheppy and thanks for taking the time to review us after your overnight stay with us. Great to hear that we were able to help you make the most out of your short stay in Christchurch. We like to make sure that even if your Christchurch visit is a short one you can walk easily to the main points in a short time! next time please stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Christchurch at this motel. The rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable and had no problems at all getting an excellent nights sleep. The kitchenette and other facilities were also provided to a high standard.

I also appreciated the obvious commitment by the owners to run their business in an eco friendly way in contract to some "corporate" hotels I've stayed in.

Jeff and Naomi were very hospitable and friendly hosts and I would definitely stay here again in the future and would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello MartinP49 and thanks for the review. Great to hear you got a sound sleep in the room you found spacious, warm and comfortable. Great to see you liked our eco efforts as well - thanks! Jeff and Naomi thank you and we look forward to having the pleasure of your future customerage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arriving early hours of the morning, I was met by friendly taxi driver (arranged by Hotel) and driven to Hotel - room was tidy, large and warm (given outside temperature). Room was required only for several hours before I had to check out.

Room was reasonably large, clean and tidy.

My sleep however was interupted serveral times by creaks / pipes.

Overall, host very friendly and most helpful - would consider next time travelling to Christchurch.

I found a "How to sleep in our beds" card - very amusing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us even though your stay was really very short. Great to see that you liked the room and our brand of hospitality - including our lil' message about how to get a great nights sleep! We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Christchruch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

CentrePoint on Colombo is so welcoming and comfortable, after a long day out, it's great to walk into a nice warm room and to be welcomed by Jeff; he is a great host. The rooms are large, bed is comfortable and you get a great night sleep - it's nice and quiet. The kitchenette is wonderful, you can wake up, make a quick breakfast and take on the day. Jeff is very knowledgable about the area, from where to eat, and where to shop for the basics, has recommendations on where to visit and most of all, he is able to tell you how to get there. The little things make such a difference, there is tea and coffee as well as awsome cookies waiting for you in your room. We arrived at CenterPoint late one afternoon (after a long drive from Queenstown), the heater was on, the room was warm and Jeff was there to welcome us. We will definitely consider staying here again if we were to visit Christchurch again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level - and it was great. We parked right outside our door and it was so easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarimNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us KarimNYC. Your review sums up our motel very well. Large comfortable rooms and beds and a kitchenette to get you going for the day. And we pride ourselves on our local knowledge. Great to see that you liked our heater on service whcih we do on the colder days in winter. Yes! Do come and visit us again when you again pass through Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

after the earthquake there are few hotels left, just all the hotels on the perimenter. This hotel claims to be closest to the center but that is a useless attribute as the center is inaccessible.

I will stay in a hotel on my next visit Chch, I just do not like these motels with their hand-me-down furniture that used to be in the owners area.

There are cheaper hotels than this one if you must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello saint77777 and thank you for reviewing your 2 night stay with us.
You are correct in saying “after the earthquake there are few hotels left, just all the hotels on the perimenter.” and “This hotel claims to be closest to the center but that is a useless attribute as the center is inaccessible.” – but you did forgot about the areas of the city centre that are accessible and easily walkable to from our location. You are also correct in saying “There are cheaper hotels than this one if you must.” – yes there are. But you are incorrect in saying that our rooms contain “hand-me-down furniture that used to be in the owners area.”
Looking at your other numerous reviews I am left thinking that this was probably the first time you have stayed in a New Zealand motel, an accommodation option many travellers choose because of the “at home” feeling.
I am guessing that it was this “at home” feeling that led to your “Hand me down” comment. While you may not like the room set up, items in the rooms are not from the motel residence. All room furniture is “made to fit” and is firmly and securely fixed to the walls. I can only think that you are referring to the other room features in room 6 where you stayed (stereo/DVD player/coffee table/leather recliners) that make the room look…..homely. These facilities are often the very reason travellers choose a motel over a hotel. It may also be because our rooms are not all brand and colour coordinated like some hotels. But please be assured that all of our furniture is still in the motel residence!
I hope that next time you visit Christchurch there is a hotel that can come a little closer to satisfying your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arriving in the early hours and having the heater on, a bed with an electric blanket and a nice personal letter.....
Nice big room, warm and quite central, half a k from a big park with lots of running tracks
Definately will stay here again.....awesome

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Don2156 and thank you for taking the time to review our motel. I am glad you enjoyed our syle of Christchurch hospitality the size of your room and that we were quite central. And yes Hagley Park is a most wonderful place to go running around. We look forward to seeing you again when you are nexy in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
4.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Property: CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing