We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinji Japanese Restaurant

Kinji Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dining pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great casual, relaxed atmosphere with most attentive, helpful and friendly staff. Excellent range of menu and food prepared and served to table promptly. Dinner Bento Box provides good range of dishes including a delightful Miso soup. Venison served as carpaccio was one of the best we have had. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiernan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    38
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The waitress greeted us as we arrived and thanked us as she showed us out after our meal. A nice change from the apparent indifference one faces in many restaurants.
The food was excellent. The Dinner Bento Box comes with miso soup and rice and is a complete meal that lets one sample several classic Japanese foods. Good for beginners who are willing to try sashimi -raw fish. Others at our table ordered several dishes and shared them, which also worked well. The tempura was wonderful -light and crisp.
One of the specials of the day was a tempura of fresh asparagus wrapped in bacon. Sadly I was the only asparagus eater in our group so I missed out. But I shall definitely be returning so I hope it will still be asparagus season!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great food, try the daily specials. The tofu was great and the fish very fresh well worth a visit but you must book possible a week in advance

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant in one of the suburbs of Christchurch. Despite the distance, it's is a place higly reccomendable. The food is great. Not a very large menu but they make interesting daily specials.
The products they use are obviously very good, anyway, the best indicator is the amount of Japanese people eating there, this means that they serve real Japanese stuff.
The staff id also very friendly and efficient.
Andres

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

thanks to all staff and chefs they made our night perfect flavor well cooked sushi with perfect and professionally service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diagopaulo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinji Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kinji Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing