We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Kinji Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went for dinner with friends. the food was fantastic as was the presentation. The service was great and very friendly with a reasonable price

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adventureguyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    40
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Christchurch”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a genuine Japanese where the owner is the chef. It is the preferred restaurant for Japanese immigrants, and that tells the whole story.

You must try salmon sushi, crumbed oysters, Tasty Fish, Duck and Beef Tataki. Kinji has specials every week, and those are generally Kinji's creations - try them too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RodBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummiest Japanese Restaurant in Christchurch!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We're new in Chch thus quite often read reviews prior dining out. Read the raving comments from TA and decided to give it a go. We're there twice now, once every month, August & Sept 2012. We ate the Kinji Fried Chicken..yumm! Spicy Tuna Starter..yumm. Wakame Salad (I'm always a fan of this menu) is also nice but have tried a yummier one someplace else. Crispy Squid..yumm. Hubby tried the Soft Shell Crab Sushi (while I can't eat raw food for the moment), but he said they are OK but prefer the Deep Fried King Prawn. The best one for me is the SIZZLIN' GRAINFED BEEF TEPPAN...wooow...sooo yuuummyy, they served in a hotplate to cook to our liking and the meat is so tender and juicy. Can't fault it!! The service is also nice and chef (he's also the owner if I'm not mistaken) sometimes comes out from the kitchen to say thank you when you're leaving. A must try Japs Resto in Chch but better make a reservation first to avoid dissapointment :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Delicious, authentic cuisine and great service. Especially helpful when I needed a description of some of the meals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HotPeanut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We went with friends as a farewell dinner before leaving NZ. It was a Monday night and the place was fully booked. Between us we had sushi, sashimi, tempura, grilled warehau in miso, tempura, seared beef, citrus salmon and rice and it was all fantastic. Couldn't fault anything. If we lived in Christchurch we'd be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinji Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kinji Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing