We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Nearby Hotels
$91
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$234
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$176
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airways Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
$100
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
180
19
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousevictoria streetcity centregreat balconyeasy strollwide screen tvlaundry facilityexcellent bathroomexcellent accommodationfriendly hotelone bedroom apartmentshort walkoff street parkingfantastic stayspa bathrestaurants within walking distanceon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 202 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2009

At the end of our holliday in New Zealand we spend the last 4 days in the Focus appartments. Large rooms, very good beds, very well appointed bathrooms en kitchen. What's in the brochure is absolutely correct. It is just a few blocks from the center of Christchurch, restaurants en shops in the neighbourhood. The owner and his wife ware very kind en helpfull, even more than the other, very kind people of New Zealand. We loved to stay in the Focus, it was the perfect end of our holliday with our children before going back to the Netherlands. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleonoraNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This motel is really excellent, and in the perfect location, just 50 metres from a free shuttle bus , that runs every 10 minutes and takes you right around the city centre. Only 5 minutes walk to Cathedral Square, the hosts Roy and Carole are incredible, they will help in any way they can and are so friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are ultra modern and exqisitely clean, with every facility you could need, including free secure car parking ( a big plus in Christchurch) There are good quality restaurants within 200 metres,but is very quiet at night. I could find no fault with this motel at all.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonBewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed two nights on a quick trip to Christchurch. Conveniently located, close to Colombo St with an EXCELLENT Indian restaurant, Himalayas; close to a local Mexican restaurant, a bakery, a specialty grocer, a couple boutique shops, and even a whisky shop!
Very clean, modern, comfortable. We had a studio which is a bit small, but it is a room and all you need. Opening windows, great for letting in fresh air, plus a fan on the wall. Small fridge, microwave, cutlery, glass ware, tea/coffee. Great shower. Spa bath, although we did not use it. Lovely towels and linen. It was perfect for our stay. if I stayed longer, I would get a bigger room. Daily newspaper to your door. Friendly and helpful managers. Everything you need and at a reasonable price! Much better than the big, soul less hotels, in our opinion!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

A new, up-to-date and clean one bedroom apartment with balcony, ensuite, 2 televisions - one in the lounge and another in the bedroom. The room had full modern kitchen facilities, which gave us the option of cooking our meals if we wanted to.

Roy and Carol (owners) are very friendly, helpful and suggested great ideas for our itinerary, luggage, transport and nice cafes that were within walking distance. The motel is opposite the casino which has a restaurant open till late. There is a free shuttle nearby which we used to travel to the city for shopping, arts centre, museum, trams and cathedral square (no need to hire a car).

The international buskers festival was on in Christchurch at the time we visited (Fantastic entertainment!). This motel has modern decor and we would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-JeanWaikatoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

As a business traveller I found the Executive Suites/ Motel at Focus to be great value and in a superb location close to city centre, parks, restaurants, conference centre, hotels and casino.

Every morning I could walk a circuit around the nearby Hagley Park and Botanical Gardens and then breakfast or coffee at favourite cafes.

Great place to work and rest with adjacent hotels for meetings and easy stroll to the city centre and riverside gardens.

Ample parking and visitor access in secured arrival court. Ideal for friends/ clients to visit and then go on to city offices or hotel/ restaurant facilities.

Very pleasant outlook from all rooms with some suites to the NE side having particularly pleasant garden outlooks. Great for families with privacy and quiet on this side.

I have stayed at the Focus several times, both short stay and once on extended business for several weeks while based in Christchurch. Hospitality from Carol and Roy is very special with lots of good humour and spotless attention to detail.

The building is new with careful and well considered architectural detail. Upper units have balconies and all units are spacious and well lit with well appointed facilities. Beds are superb with very comfortable linen. Showers are spacious with never ending supply of high pressure hot water. Rooms have excellent internal acoustic privacy, and double glazing dramatically reduces outside traffic noise. Best to have a room where possible away from street frontage nevertheless.

Penthouse apartment is particulary superb, well proportioned, ideal for entertaining, and deserves a stay for at least 2-3 nights as a unique base for a great holiday in Christchurch. Having stayed in nearby hotels also, I would recommend Focus as a more personal and comfortable choice with best of all amenities and lots of natural lighting and balcony spaces for indoor-outdoor
living - not available in the hotels.

I highly rate this very pleasing, intimate scale complex for holiday stays and business stays. For business I found this ideal as I was able to have space for my work and yet have peace and privacy in my nedroom suite.

With the Casino complex just across the road, it is also so much fun for unwinding and relaxation whether as a couple or as a solo traveller.

This is a gem in Christchurch.

Richard Farrow
Architect

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ric33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews