We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed two nights on a quick trip to Christchurch. Conveniently located, close to Colombo St with an EXCELLENT Indian restaurant, Himalayas; close to a local Mexican restaurant, a bakery, a specialty grocer, a couple boutique shops, and even a whisky shop!
Very clean, modern, comfortable. We had a studio which is a bit small, but it is a room and all you need. Opening windows, great for letting in fresh air, plus a fan on the wall. Small fridge, microwave, cutlery, glass ware, tea/coffee. Great shower. Spa bath, although we did not use it. Lovely towels and linen. It was perfect for our stay. if I stayed longer, I would get a bigger room. Daily newspaper to your door. Friendly and helpful managers. Everything you need and at a reasonable price! Much better than the big, soul less hotels, in our opinion!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

A new, up-to-date and clean one bedroom apartment with balcony, ensuite, 2 televisions - one in the lounge and another in the bedroom. The room had full modern kitchen facilities, which gave us the option of cooking our meals if we wanted to.

Roy and Carol (owners) are very friendly, helpful and suggested great ideas for our itinerary, luggage, transport and nice cafes that were within walking distance. The motel is opposite the casino which has a restaurant open till late. There is a free shuttle nearby which we used to travel to the city for shopping, arts centre, museum, trams and cathedral square (no need to hire a car).

The international buskers festival was on in Christchurch at the time we visited (Fantastic entertainment!). This motel has modern decor and we would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-JeanWaikatoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

As a business traveller I found the Executive Suites/ Motel at Focus to be great value and in a superb location close to city centre, parks, restaurants, conference centre, hotels and casino.

Every morning I could walk a circuit around the nearby Hagley Park and Botanical Gardens and then breakfast or coffee at favourite cafes.

Great place to work and rest with adjacent hotels for meetings and easy stroll to the city centre and riverside gardens.

Ample parking and visitor access in secured arrival court. Ideal for friends/ clients to visit and then go on to city offices or hotel/ restaurant facilities.

Very pleasant outlook from all rooms with some suites to the NE side having particularly pleasant garden outlooks. Great for families with privacy and quiet on this side.

I have stayed at the Focus several times, both short stay and once on extended business for several weeks while based in Christchurch. Hospitality from Carol and Roy is very special with lots of good humour and spotless attention to detail.

The building is new with careful and well considered architectural detail. Upper units have balconies and all units are spacious and well lit with well appointed facilities. Beds are superb with very comfortable linen. Showers are spacious with never ending supply of high pressure hot water. Rooms have excellent internal acoustic privacy, and double glazing dramatically reduces outside traffic noise. Best to have a room where possible away from street frontage nevertheless.

Penthouse apartment is particulary superb, well proportioned, ideal for entertaining, and deserves a stay for at least 2-3 nights as a unique base for a great holiday in Christchurch. Having stayed in nearby hotels also, I would recommend Focus as a more personal and comfortable choice with best of all amenities and lots of natural lighting and balcony spaces for indoor-outdoor
living - not available in the hotels.

I highly rate this very pleasing, intimate scale complex for holiday stays and business stays. For business I found this ideal as I was able to have space for my work and yet have peace and privacy in my nedroom suite.

With the Casino complex just across the road, it is also so much fun for unwinding and relaxation whether as a couple or as a solo traveller.

This is a gem in Christchurch.

Richard Farrow
Architect

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ric33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Great stay for a week, in spacious and clean surroundings.
Such a friendly manager and very accommodating.
Ideal for catching the free shuttle bus into the city and a 2 minute stroll to the casino.
Totally recommended anytime of the year
Tanya & Pana Sue (Palmerston North)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

After looking on the internet for quite some time for a 3 bedroom apartment in Christchurch, I found Focus Motel's website. I sent off an email asking if they could accommodate us and received a reply very quickly. They were able to give us two apartments side by side, which was perfect. We booked a 2 bedroom Spa Apartment and a 1 bedroom Studio Suite.

On the day of our arrival we were going to be into Christchurch very early, so I rang and asked if we could possibly check-in early. No Problems was the reply - any time after 10.30!!

We arrived around 11 and were greated by Roy who showed us to our rooms. Wow - talk about beautiful rooms - very modern with lovely bedding, stunning bathroom with luxurous spa bath and heated floor and heated towel rail. The kitchen has Maxwell and Williams plates and crockery, and lovely glassware.

There is a large wall-mounted LCD TV in the lounge room and a smaller one in the master king bedroom.

Both bedrooms have a wardrobe and in the second bedroom (with twin beds) there is a iron and ironing board.

Roy and Carol - the owners - are incredibly friendly and helpful, even providing coins for the washer and dryer and topping up where necessary and adding it to our bill, instead of us having to hassle to get change.

We have been VERY impressed with Focus Motel and are happy to recommend them to anyone - single, couple, executive, or family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scjad099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatsubsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
Thank Audrey-Camille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Motel & Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Motel & Executive Suites

Address: 344 Durham Street Nth, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $121 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Motel & Executive Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Motel & Executive Suites offers warm, professionally styled & luxuriously appointed inner city boutique accommodation for the busy corporate executive or discerning traveler. Our newly purpose-built complex has a contemporary style with up to four-story views and quiet elevator access to each level. You will be perfectly located in the Christchurch CBD, only 150m from the Convention Center, Town Hall, Casino and Victoria Street shops, bars and restaurants, and an easy stroll to the heart of Christchurch???s wonderful cultural precinct, including the Art Gallery, Arts Center, and many other entertainment choices. Ample off-street car parking is both convenient & very secure. All of our suites have a sunny north facing aspect and indoor-outdoor flow to a balcony or courtyard, ideal for relaxing at the end of the day. We even have a sheltered barbecue area for your enjoyment. We offer you an unforgettable, service orientated and friendly experience with competitive prices for luxury accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Focus Motel & Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing