We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here two nights; both before and after our flights. It was an easy drive to/from the airport and the staff were very accommodating considering we didn't arrive until nearly 1am the first night. They ensured the room was ready and open so we just had to get there and fall asleep. As we were travelling with an infant they also provided a cot at no extra charge which was great.

The room itself was well furnished and nicely decorated. The mini kitchenette was useful and the bathroom was lovely and big. Nice toiletries were provided. Location wise it is very convenient and an easy drive to the main attractions in Christchurch. There is a big Westfield's shopping centre just nearby and within easy walking distance. As it's on a main road there were also buses available to get into the city centre and botanical gardens. Wifi is free which seems a novelty in many NZ motels.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was here for 4 nights for BeerFest weekend. Location is very central, less than 3min walk to Ricc Mall, and half an hour walk to Hagley Park.

Accommodation was awesome, no interruptions with cleaning which we've experienced with other motels/hotels, all done once we'd left the unit. Loved the free wifi. Very modern interior/furnishings. Friendly staff and managed to snag a good weekend weather wise! Great to see the units still hold up solidly in quakes- had a 4.2 during our stay, first one felt in a wee while!

Room Tip: Units towards the back would be quieter- heard the odd truck rumble past on Riccarton Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Clean and great accommodation. Cheaper than many others we looked at.
We stayed in an executive 2 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious for our family(with 2 older kids). It was as per their description: Free Wifi Internet. Nice furnishings, superior accommodation. Queen bed in main bedroom, two singles in second bedroom. 3 LCD flat screen TV's with Sky Digital. Separate lounge room. Shower over spa bath. Kitchenette with microwave, jug, toaster, 2 hot plates. Laundry facilities 100 metres from Westfield Mall. Owner was very friendly and very helpful. On a main road so we walked to the city, but there were many buses going up and down the street so would be easy to catch one in and out of the city if preferred. Doona was super cozy.

Room Tip: I wrote poor for childrens activities, but I am not sure what they had avalable. There were many act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our first accommodation in NZ and it was excellent on most counts. We had booked(directly on their website) an executive 2 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious for our family(with 2 older kids). It was exactly like their description says:
" ***Free Wifi Internet*** Luxurious furnishings, superior accommodation. King bed in main bedroom, two singles in second bedroom. 3 LCD flat screen TV's with Sky Digital. Separate lounge room with double therapeutic spa bath in bathroom. Shower over bath. Kitchen with microwave, jug, toaster, bar fridge and hot plates. Washer/dryer machine. 100 metres from Westfield Mall."
May be because I booked very late, it was very expensive. The only other drawback is the road noise though we all slept well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arrived in the pouring rain (Cyclone Luisi supposedly heading our way!) and were greeted by a lovely young lady at reception. She explained that she was looking after the motel for the owner, and was just so helpful and pleasant to deal with. Rooms are beautifully finished and have everything that you could possibly want or need. We ended up staying two nights instead of the originally planned one, and we definitely stay there again. Love the red decor touches in the rooms - just stunning and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here one night after arriving in Christchurch from the Airport. The place was reasonably close to the airport and easy to find. We were pleasantly surprised with the room as we hadn't expected much, but we found it was spacious, clean, well equipped and just pleasant to stay in.

The motel was within walking distance of some pubs and a shopping centre. We had dinner at the Fox & Ferret, Riccarton and the food was great - would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice pub meal nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the interior of our room which was a two bedroom suite. It was exceptionally clean, large enough to accommodate the four of us, had a small kitchenette and living room, and was modern in its décor. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff was very helpful in giving us advice about sites to see in the downtown area and things to do. The location was on a main road so it was easy to find and close enough to the airport for us to easily make an early morning flight. It was an excellent value for the price, if I ever return to Christchurch I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesiGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
1.9 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 138 in Christchurch
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $80 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing