We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Metropolitan proved to be a terrific choice for our family when we recently travelled to NZ for our sons wedding. 4 generations of our family travelled and stayed at the Metropolitan - the range of ages included a couple in their 60s, a great grandmother in her 80's, a young family with a two year old and a teenager.

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and a family unit. Beds were excellent and we all slept well, which is so important when travelling. The hosts were welcoming, discrete and professional in their approach to our needs. The apartments were exceptionally clean and the amenities more than met our needs. the proximity to the Westfield Shopping Mall was a bonus and the local take way delivered free to our rooms.

The Metropolitan proved great value, convenient and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Lower units proved good for smikers with outside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieq248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Christchurch was the last station on our four-week tour through New Zealand. We chose a motel that, on the internet, looked comfortable and clean and that was located conveniently for the activities we had planned in and around Christchurch. We spent three nights in an Executive Studio Spa suite at Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments and were not let down. The place is spotlessly clean, absolutely comfortable, and our hosts were amiable and very helpful. We would recommend this motel to everyone staying in Christchurch!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeekersLittleHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My stay started reasonably good - modern room, nice spa and the shopping mall was just a block away. The internet charge was okay - although I don't see why local calls should be charged.

My biggest beef was that - they let someone in my room when I wasn't there! An acquaintance turned up looking for me and when she found out that I wasn't there, she apparently asked the owner (husband) if she could watch tv in their lounge. Instead of saying no (or whatever) he offered to let her inside my room, and promptly unlocked the door and let her in. When I arrived about an hour later, there she was sitting on the bed watching tv! Unbelievable! Just because someone turns up and tells you she is an acquaintance of one your guests - you let that person in?

Room Tip: The bed was too soft and sagged in the middle - I did not sleep very comfortably. Had backache ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After spending 5 days in a campervan I was looking for a luxurious hotel to stay in - obviously there's not much left in Christchurch to satisty this so we booked the Metropolitan for 2 nights. I didn't really want to book a motel (as opposed to a hotel) but didn't really have a choice - I was pleasantly surprised by The Metropolitan and it was exactly what I needed. The room and furnishings were modern, very well kept and clean and the owners were very friendly. The spa was awesome too! I'd definitely recommend this if you don't mind a motel on a busy road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellebelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have just stayed at this motel/apartments for work for one night. The owners were very helpful, internet access is cheap, parking is accessible and the rooms are new and well maintained.
The bathrooms was a good size and had a spa bath.
Very close to a large range of restaurants.
Includes gym access - which I used and was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our first night in Christchurch, a very modern and very clean place to stay, nice big bathroom. Close to the Riccarton Mall as well as heaps of places to eat. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments. The first time was last year in February and this year again in April. The first time we had a two bedroom apartment we were very comfortable until our two adult children arrived to stay and realised the unit was a little small for four adults. The second bedroom was small with two single beds and we were sharing one bathroom. Overall the the unit was well presented and very clean. Our second time it was just the two of us and we had an executive one bedroom once again the standard of cleanliness and presentation were excellent and we were very comfortable. This motel is a two minute walk to the Riccarton Mall, only 5 minutes to Canterbury University and 15 minutes the airport. can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 138 in Christchurch
868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#9 of 108 in Christchurch
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing