We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room, closed to shopping center. But not so pleasant experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at 5 different self contained apartment during our 12 days trip in nz. This one was the only one where we had an unpleasant experience.
However, I will try to give a fair review of our stay:

On the positive:
- Modern and clean room
- Big bathtub
- 5min walk to shopping center
- Cheap internet rate
- Free parking space

On the negative:
- At the reception, there was a message on the wall mentioning "Check-out time at 10:00am. You may be on holiday, but we are not". I found it unwelcoming.
- There was no mention anywhere we had to clean the dishes before leaving. There was even no info about the charges anywhere, but I was charged 20$ by the host. I did not argue as I was in rush to leave. In other location, they either inform or include the dishwashing service into the room rate.
- The 2 bedroom apt does not have good cooking facilities. Very difficult to cook as the frypan was too big and the cooking stove way too small. And as soon as you cook something, the smell spread in the whole apartment.
- No dishwasher
- the 2 bedroom apt was small

In summary, the room is clean, modern and good if you want to eat out. But not good for family who wants to do their own cooking.
You will need a car to go to city center (which is actually closed).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gervong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 205 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

This Two Storey Motel is a handy location for teh Riccarton Mall and also Christchurch Airport.

It is at the end of a run of motels and is in good nick. The rooms are fresh, clean and recently decorated.

They have a decent sized bathroom, en suite kitchenette, flat screen tv, and our room had a double and a single for family use.

Service was pleasant and speedy and efficient.

Given obvious lack of hotels in Christchurch - why not give a motel a go?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Pretty standard motel, very clean and tidy with a more modern feel than most nz motels. Very basic amenities- in fact in only noticed soap in the bathroom.
Recommended for basic no-frills trips.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank March888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed staying here for a short weekend trip from Australia,

Service was amazing, we arrived after midnight and departed at 4am. nothing was to much trouble for the staff at all.

one of the best shopping centres is less then 5mins walk away.. and the Lone Star is 10 minuites in the other direction (worth the walk)

Plus the Hotel has a Taxi price cap that wont cost you more then $20..

we stayed in a Spa Room, great little love nest, worth the trip... highly reccomended!!!

Room Tip: ask about the Taxi cap price at $20
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights to stay in 1 1BR unit in this apartment, and like to have the following comments :
Good points
1. good location, very close to Riccaton Mall for shopping
2. As we arrived after midnight, The manageress Val had organized everything as I requested, thank you for her.
3. Neat and Tidy, same as the photos in their website
4. Someone in the previous comment had mentioned that there is a gap in the King Bed (formed by 2 singles, I guessed). I found my bed is a King bed and very comfortable.

Bad points :
1. In the Online Booking at their website, there is only choice of 1 night and 2 nights stay, and no option for the stay longer than that. , In May, I have sent some emails to them as to request them to confirm my booking , however, there is no response until I repeatedly sent the emails and marked as "Urgent".
2. The Fridge is not very noisy (as someone had mentioned before), but the freezer is not cold enought, and make the ice-cream become milk-shake after store overnight.
3. There are only one small pot and a large frying pan (no lid), I think it better to have 2 pots.
4. No drain-board with the kitchen sink, and no tray provided for the dish draining basket, and the water can drop on the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catcat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Metropolitan during the 2011 Buskers Festival. The rooms were more spacious than other hotels we stayed at in Christchurch and the furnishings were all modern. The only thing we thought could have been better was the advertised king size bed was two twins put together. It left an uncomfortable spot in the middle.
Internet was only $5 a day and the hotel is close enough to city centre to walk (45 mins).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The location was good and like other reviewers it was an advantage to be located next to a mall with lots of dining and shopping options. On Saturday don't miss the Christchurch Farmers Market in Riccarton House (10 minutes walk) for music, good food and a pleasant walk. Although the rooms are small they are well appointed and come with free wifi. The staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinginsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $79 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing