We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Fare

Strawberry Fare
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for Dessert on Saturday night. Restaurant was very busy but were seated at the window seats. Took a while for order to be taken but desserts arrived in good item. All was good

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    262
    73
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently High Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We make this restaurant a regular on our "eating-out" calendar, and have done so for nigh on twenty years. It's always nice to be greeted with a freindly welcome from the owner/manager, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Today's breakfast (a must after having had a fasting blood test!) of bacon eggs and tomato for me and pancakes (the best in the world!) and berries with maple syrup for my wife, was right up there at the top. Staff is always friendly and the service was attentive without being overbearing. Well done, team!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place. friendly staff. great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

fantastic experience. was dining alone and the bartender was friendly. they then sat me by the window and since i was alone, offered the paper. great choices for meals. food fresh and tasty. not too expensive either. a great meal. would go back if in CHC again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PENNsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DESERT to die for!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love stopping off in this place to grab a desert, never had any main meals but the deserts are to die for, you can even order to take away.

However the service is not great. I brought my dad here and we were waiting, 20 minutes to get a seat while the waitress seated people, who came in after us... This annoyed us to no extent but we did not leave as I wanted my dad to experience their amazing deserts.

We eventually were seated and got our deserts, they were good but the bitter after taste of the lack on general customer service stayed with me and we left soon after.

I love this place but they REALLY need to have a complete overhaul of service and staff. The food might be good but leaving here knowing the staff don't care makes the overall experience not so good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent food. Not cheap but good value. No outside seating but the front conservatory is very nice. No disabled access for the restaurant upstairs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dashAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Fare also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Strawberry Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing