We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tony and Lucy”
Review of Dyers House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dyers House
Ranked #21 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Tony and Lucy”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Dyers House in January/2013. It was our first time at a B&B. The house is beautiful with a beautiful view over the city, the rooms are spacious, the bed was soo comfortable and the rooms are tastefully decorated and bright. Angela and Barry have to be some of the very best hosts there are - nothing was too much trouble - Barry even dropped us anywhere we needed to go. Angela and Barry could not have done more to help us enjoy our stay - their local knowledge was a great assistance. We would definitely use Dyers house again on our next time to New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Last month (November 2012, we were very fortunate to stay at Dyers House...the owners (Barry & Angela) provide the most amazing combination of luxury/decadence and warmth/comfort.

No detail is overlooked. The rooms are beautiful - the bathroom particularly delighted me as did the beautiful garden.

I cannot recommend this place enough to anyone planning a trip to New Zealand. If you weren't intending to visit Christchurch or the South Island, change your plans....Dyers House is certainly worth planning an entire trip around. You won't be disappointed!

From the moment we arrived, Barry & Angela made us feel like we had arrived home. They have created a truly wonderful location, that is way beyond a place of accommodation.

Barry & Angela have the ability to deliver much more than a Host/Guest relationship, with those that come to stay. You leave feeling like you are part of a new "family".

I can't wait to create an opportunity to go and stay again. Thank you both so much!! Enjoyable pre-drinks and canapes in the drawing room with you was just lovely - along with the most enjoyable conversations.

Attentive owners, wonderful accommodation and a totally urbane and civilised environment. Thoroughly recommended. The food, and wine, are outstanding and plentiful. The gardens are splendid. Service is exceptional.

Look forward to our next stay with you

Look after yourselves and each other

Special thoughts

Lynne Lambert and David Atkin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The stay at Dyers House will make you love New Zealand even more. The fantastic view from the balcony, the beautiful cherry blossom in the garden, the gracefully decorated rooms, all added up to such wonderful experience in this cozy B&B. But this all come out from Angela & Barry, who are so sincere & thoughtful that would make you love to stay longer. Oh we forgot about Joe the Cat. He'll show you how to be relaxed in this comfortable establishment. This is a truly sensational experience that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us while in Christchurch. Thank you very much for choosing Dyers House and giving us the opportunity to make your stay in our wonderful city as special and memorable as it could be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here awhile ago now and normally I find it easy to review, but everything here is exceptional from the moment you enter Angela and Barry's it is so relaxing.
The Food, The Welcome I feel tremendously guilty not to have responded earlier but wanted to find words to express our lovely stay here. So many fine touches and thought has gone into this lovely Boutique hotel, don't even think B & B, this is in a class all of it's own.
Puts 5 star hotels to shame.
The furniture, The beds, The Garden, The view, most important Angela and Barrie are genuinely lovely people, having worked in or around hospitality for most of my life, this love of what they do shines through.
Whilst chatting in their lovely lounge other visitors were arriving it was a pleasure to watch them engaging other travellers in conversation and subtlety introducing everyone, with a couple of glasses of wine of course.
Perfect Hosts. I wish them all the Best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for sharing your experience with all Trip Advisor followers. We are delighted that our hospitality helped to make your visit to New Zealand a happy memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Christchurch. Give our love to Yorkshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morfelden-Walldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Dyers House in October of this year. It was our first time at a B&B - and it was so much more, than we had expected. The house is beautiful, the rooms are spacious with tasteful furniture and large, bright and clean bathrooms attached. The most outstanding thing about this B&B, however, are the hosts, Angela and Barry, who will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us and all Trip Advisor subscribers. What a pleasure to receive these complimentary comments about your recent stay at Dyers House. Thank you again for such an encouraging review, we hope to welcome you back soon!
vieler Dank!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a first class experience in every way. A beautiful Edwardian mansion tastefully restored and decorated. The rooms are exquisite and comfortable - the views from the verandah are breathtaking. Combined with these is the warm but discrete hospitality of the hosts Barry and Angela. A winning combination.
Truly a memorable stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Dyers House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for such a favorable review, especially for sharing the details that many travelers will find useful. I trust that you and the family all enjoyed yourselves and had a pleasant trip back home to Australia. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Dyers House in January of this year and can honestly say it's one of the very best B and Bs we have stayed in - and there have been a lot! Not only were the house and bedrooms delightful (and seriously comfortable) but Angela and Barry have to be some of the very best hosts there are - nothing was too much trouble - collecting us at the train station, dropping us off at the airport, driving us to and from the restaurant they recommended for us and even giving us a tour of the city centre to show us some of the earthquake damage and the delightful container shops which have been erected in its wake. They also shared a glass (or two or three) of wine with us whilst giving us some insights into life in Christchurch in particular and New Zealand in general and in the morning provided a wonderful breakfast. A really enjoyable stay and an exceptional experience.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Owner at Dyers House, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we really enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Featherstone B&B
Featherstone B&B
#33 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accommodation
Hackthorne Gardens Luxury Accomm...
#33 of 103 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Onuku Bed and Breakfast
Onuku Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyers House

Property: Dyers House
Address: 85 Dyers Pass Road | Cashmere, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dyers House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dyers House is an Edwardian 106 years old house, refurbished in the best tradition. It has panoramic views of Christchurch, the sea and the spectacular Southern Alps. All three queen-size guest rooms have their own en-suite facilities and each room retains the character of the house whilst having all creature comforts of the modern age.Your hosts, Angela and Barry, love being with people and aim for the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dyers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing