We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellano Motel Suites
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The room was very well appointed, modern and very clean! We enjoyed the location being so close to all we needed. It was not cheap but was value for money. I found checking out was a real low point for me. No pleasantries from reception other than confirmation of the rate. Maybe a bad nights sleep? It certainly took the shine off the stay and makes this a last resort for us when we come to Christchurch which is often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACS77B, Owner at Bellano Motel Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are pleased this guest enjoyed our facilities and location of our property.
This review is disappointing. Guest booked by a large corporation for his families first stay with us. It was booked several times and each time cancelled but we made allowances for this and did offer a great corporate room rate. Our office staff converse with our guests in an appropriate manner, it is often inappropriate to make 'small talk' when it is apparent a guest does not want to enter into a dialogue.
Check other reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    26
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
70
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was very nice and clean. Modern decor and overall everything was high quality. I will mention I found reception to be a little cold- in no way rude but compared to other places we travelled where staff were friendly and we were asked how we were, where we were from and given recommendations and directions to places, the extent of conversation exchanged was a hello, paying for the bill and goodbye, basically! clearly just a transaction.
None the less a very good option for the fussy traveller, everything else was perfect.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Misssharnijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACS77B, Owner at Bellano Motel Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on our property. We have great staff who take pride in the cleanliness and standard of our suites. We too as owners enjoy chatting with our guests and hearing of their travels and adventures around NZ. We apologise if you feel the staff member you met in the office could have been more friendly.
We look forward to having you back to stay in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Bellagio exceeded our expectation. Not only were the rooms quiet, clean and modern, the "extra touches" are really what make this place stand apart. Such as: finding a spare toothbrush and toothpaste among the toiletries, the kitchenette well stocked with tea and coffee, dishes and every appliance we might need, and a fan! I can't sleep without air moving so I was thrilled about that. The spa tub was lovely to soak in after long days walking. This was our first visit to Christchurch and we could not have been more pleased. Thank you, Bellagio! We will recommend you to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zalea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

With so few hotels left in Christchurch, I chose the Bellagio not quite sure of what motel standards are like in NZ. I was stunned when we opened the door to our room, beautifully appointed, super comfy bed, extremely clean and well cared for. They even have the little extras like Red Earth products in the bathroom and kindly catered for our 1am arrival. There is some background noise from the road as expected but it certainly wasnt enough to disrupt sleep. Very friendly on checkout, providing us with city maps, a brilliant breakfast suggestion (Vic's cafe - a 2min walk away) and suggestions for activities in the city. Would definitely stay at the Bellagio again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayedat the Bellagio on numerous occasions over the last 12 months. Whenever I am going to be in Chch for business I always request the Bellagio however it is quite often fully booked, if I am travelling at short notice, which is the only downside in my mind. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious and nicely decorated. No noise problems which I have found to be the case in other older properties. The Thai restaurant around the corner is verygood if you are looking for somewhere close by for dinner. Highly recommend the Bellagio, but make sure you book well in advance.

Room Tip: I've found all rooms to be quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfieldsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACS77B, Owner at Bellano Motel Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for your great comments. After a long closure for earthquake repairs it is wonderful to be open again and to welcome back our regular guests as well as new guests choosing Bellano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Bellagio Motel recently and were blown away with it. It was such a relaxing place to spend a night away from the kids, I loved everything about my stay, I couldnt fault it at all. Will definatly recommend this to others and will be the first on my list of places to stay in CHCH in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 = perfect! Lovely big spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2relaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I returned to the Bellagio a year after our last visit. We stayed in room 1 and 4. The motel is still a wonderful, modern accommodation with a great location. We were provided with great service by the reception as always - accommodating our 4am check-out. Thank you for the wonderful stay as always.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salerno Motel Apartments
Salerno Motel Apartments
#73 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellano Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellano Motel Suites

Property: Bellano Motel Suites
Address: 77 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#35 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#45 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellano Motel Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Bellano Motel Suites, a stylish, modern, boutique style accommodation for business or pleasure. The perfect inner city location from which to conduct business, enjoy a weekend of shopping, attend a wedding or enjoy a romantic interlude. First opened January 2008. Words do little to capture the elegant ambiance, stunning interior design and excellent attention to detail. We offer service that makes Bellano Motel Suites stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellano Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellagio Hotel Christchurch
Bellagio Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing