We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss at the Bellagio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellano Motel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellano Motel Suites
Ranked #73 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bliss at the Bellagio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at the Bellagio twice on our road trip around the South Island and could not fault this little haven on either occasion. The motel is ultra modern, extremely clean and central to the Casino, shops and restaurants. Even though on a main road, our sleep was not disturbed and throughout the chilly night, the rooms were completely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no doubt in recommending Bellagio to anyone passing through or looking to stay for a while. Make sure you get the spa suite, it's a great way to unwind after a road trip!

For service, Bellagio staff and always courteous and more than eager to help you with what to see in the beautiful, picturesque Christchurch. These places thrive on visitors and their service is an asset to the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walshes_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
68
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have stayed in Christchurch on a number of occasions both before and after the disasterous Christchurch earthquakes. By far, this accommodation has been the best! We stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of our honeymoon & at the tailend of our trip around NZ. Both stays on separate occasions was excellent (once in a top level room and once in a ground level). The bed was divine - shower & spa bath luxiourous. Excellent amenities. Gracious/friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed our stay immensely & will be back. We were concerned about road noise because of the location but to our surprise, very quiet. We also were in walking distance of several shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 & 12 and both were equally good! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Bellagio Motel for one night on the 13th October 2011. We were on holiday from the UK touring the South Island by motorcycle and in Christchurch both as tourists and to visit friends. We were impressed with the very high standard throughout the Motel and warm welcome.

In terms of furnishings, fixtures and decor our studio was prepared to a superior standard and this seemed to be universal throughout the premises. The kitchen was modern and fully equipped and the bathroom featured full-on power shower and Jacuzzi bath.

The Bellagio is situated on Bealey Avenue, a primary route running across the North of the city centre, and easily accessible from State Highway 1 and with ample onsite parking. The location is within easy walking distance of all major attractions and Hagley Park. On the night the proprietor recommended an Italian restaurant 5 minutes walk away on Papanui Road where we enjoyed one of the best Italian meals ever.

It is evident that the proprietors of The Bellagio have made a significant investment in their property and this was matched only by the size of their welcome, advice and overall assistance. We paid what we felt was a competitive rate and would book here again by default if we happen to be in Christchurch again.

Christchurch is recovering from the devastating earthquakes of September and February and the immediate city centre is still out of bounds but beyond that it is a fully functioning city providing the same warm welcome you’ll find all over New Zealand and with all the same reasons to visit as there were before the earthquakes. I’d urge anyone visiting New Zealand to spend some time and tourist dollars in Christchurch

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikefromMelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very clean and comfortable room. Hassle-free check-ins and wonderful hosts.
Special thanks to Lynley and Ross for going the extra mile to send the glasses we left behind back to us. Greatly appreciated! We will definitely be back again and will highly recommend Bellagio to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wow... Never been to such a clean and spotless motel. I felt very relaxed knowing that the bathroom and the room were serviced really well. The only things that stop me rating it at 'Excellent' was the noise on the street (although that is unavoidable for them) and that the spa didn't work properly (some of the jets dint go). Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had to find a place to stay as our flights had been diverted so we picked this place out of the available places on Wotif.com as it had a 5 star rating and we wanted some comfort after having quite a hell of a day.

Place looks nice especially coated in snow and the staff were friendly. We were happy to see a spa bath and to be given fresh milk (a choice of what kind too!) to make hot tea with which is a nice change from most places with their UHT. A nice selection of tea and coffee was available which was also lovely.

Rooms are stylish and modern. We used the Guide in the room to try to find a place to eat dinner but the guide proved to be outdated. Many of the restaurants recommended don't exist anymore due to the quakes apparently and many that are still sposed to be operational weren't open this Monday night.

There is in room broadband which is good at $5 for 24 hrs. Not as good as free but better than many places charge.

The biggest let down for me was no mini bar which is such a strange thing not to have! I have stayed in some $25 a night hellholes and still had a mini bar and this place claims to be 5 stars. I don't think they should be rated so highly without a mini bar. Mightn't be a big deal for many but i'm stuck here in Christchurch not by choice and nothings open on a Monday night and we can't even have a glass of wine or a beer after a long and heinous day, seriously wtf!

Also the clock wasnt even on and we have come from another timezone so not very helpful for us.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Selbelle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BealeyChristchurch, Owner at Bellano Motel Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
We would like to thank these guests for the great comments they have made about us and our property. Lots of people were inconvenienced by the recent snow storm so we were happy to be able to offer luxury accommodation to help out. There are some points however this guest is not correct in making. Our compendiums are completely up to date, all restaurants listed are fully operational post earthquakes but of course some may have been closed due to the weather conditions. This guests asked where a bottle store was when he checked in and was directed to an outlet no more than 5minutes walk from our property where he did purchase alchohol. This was evident by spilt red wine and a broken wine glass put down the toilet. Motels are very different places to hotels and it would be unlikely that any motel in New Zealand had minibars unless they had a full restaurant and bar attached to their property. To sell alcohol you must hold a liquor licence and have a licensed bar manager on site at all times. This is not feasible in a property such as ours.
Lynley and Ross Macleod - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If its not because of our cancelled flight, we wouldn't knew about Bellagio! What a Beautiful motel! We had a ground floor room booked into for a night. Facility were great. Free Washer and Dryer service are provided for guest use. In room has got free coffee & tea facility, and it also come with a small kitchenette with microwave oven. It has a small courtyard with table and chairs which was nice, but it was snowing so didnt have a chance to use it. Even for a night, we had a great stay. We will surely be back if were to travel to Christchurch again. Thumbs up to owner of the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sccs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#33 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#25 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellano Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellano Motel Suites

Property: Bellano Motel Suites
Address: 77 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#35 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#45 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellano Motel Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Bellano Motel Suites, a stylish, modern, boutique style accommodation for business or pleasure. The perfect inner city location from which to conduct business, enjoy a weekend of shopping, attend a wedding or enjoy a romantic interlude. First opened January 2008. Words do little to capture the elegant ambiance, stunning interior design and excellent attention to detail. We offer service that makes Bellano Motel Suites stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bellano Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellagio Hotel Christchurch
Bellagio Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing