We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Clean Excellent Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Super Clean Excellent Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

New Zealand seems to be primarily motels but this one is exceptional. Sadly Downtown ChristChurch was blocked off due to the earthquake; but this motel was excellent. So super clean as if it had jsut been renovated, but learned not the case. Toilet seat is removed and replaced after every check out. The owners Jo and Frank are lovely peoople and a wealth of information. very very chatty.
Room comfortable, excellent bedding and kitchen unit. great television.
walking distance to a terrific Thai restaurant.
Located more in a residential area but again with downtown a no go area, it was fine with the GPS/

Room Tip: we went for delux room, and totally recommend that. Also suggest a reservation although they ahv ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    86
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
93
86
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

cant fault anything..room very clean, bathroom superb., you got your own small kitchen complete with utensil..nice place and highly recommended to stay in christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice room. Jetted tub was a plus. Nothing super fancy but did it's job. Frank & Jo are very pleasant.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elle076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is an excellent motel, attactively furnished, extremely clean and very comfortable. Our room was quiet and we felt safe being in a single storey property if there were aftershocks. The hosts, Jo and Frank, are very helpful and friendly. We have stayed here for aboout a week on 2 separate occasions and we will do so next time we go to Christchurch. Also, there are excellent Indian and Thai restaurants less than a block away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I can highly recommend Arthur's Court Lodge. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, immaculately clean and very well equipped. The facilities on offer are excellent. There is a well equipped laundry and fast wireless internet.

Jo and frank our hosts were very warm, helpful and loads of fun. They recommended places to visit and places to eat out.

We appreciated that the motel offered recycling options, there even was a food scrap bin. They have taken great steps forward for staying in line with the Clean, Green, New Zealand image.

We look forward to staying at Arthur's Court Lodge when we are visiting Christchurch again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khandelw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent a brief two days in Christchurch after the second earthquake. The city was still difficult to navigate and we decided to use it as a base to visit Akoroa. Many of the hotels were closed or full, but we were lucky to find Arthurs Court. It doesn’t look like much from outside, but inside the rooms are spacious and clean. There is a full kitchen and modern bathrooms (which we can be picky about) that rival nice hotels in the states. We didn't encounter too many bugs like earlier posters, but we also did not have the windows open since its a one story motel and we were rarely in our room. In addition the locations makes it a good base for road trips, as it does not compete with the city traffic and there are a reasonable number of restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheep9510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel room is nice with a well equipped kitchen and good linen. Don't leave the windows open though or you will get daddy-long-legs inside. We had two silverfish in the bathroom too.

There was a bit of road noise at night though we were in unit 2, which is quite close to the road.

We overslept on the Sunday and were woken up at 10:04 with the hostess telling us to get out as fast as possible and sternly reminding us that we hadn't paid.

We had arrived late on the Friday and picked up the keys from the key box. We had booked online with our credit card with no instruction to come and pay as soon as possible once we arrived.

We were out within 16 minutes feeling thoroughly told off. I appreciate we had overstayed the checkout time but a phone call at 9:30, with a reminder we had 30 minutes to check out would have been just as easy.

Needless to say we don't recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurscourt, Owner at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
These guests were sent two confirmation emails with our terms and conditions on them. The first from the online website saying ‘Payment for accommodation is required at check-in’, the second from our office reservations system that states ‘Accommodation is payable on arrival.’ A polite request on the late arrival key instructions for them to come to the office the next morning to complete the check-in details had been ignored. All other guests come to the office to say hello and fill in the check-in form. They had no vehicle, and we had not seen them at all on Saturday. They were out when the room was serviced.
The first contact we had with them was at 10.04 on the Sunday. At 10am, when our cleaning staff were ready to start, we did not know if they were in the room or had already left. When I knocked, the door was opened by the female guest wrapped in a bath towel, saying they would leave when they were ready. They had not spoken to us before, let alone requested a late check-out. If they required a wake-up call they could have asked for one, or read the compendium and set their own alarm clock or own wake-up phone call. We can imagine the reception we would have if we rang every guest at 9.30 to remind them they had to be out by 10am. Our units must be very comfortable for them to have overslept!
Our units are all double-glazed, but there will be outside sounds if the windows are left open at night. Daddy-long-legs do fly in through open windows. We have never experienced silverfish in our units before, maybe they were brought in on their luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Property: Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing