We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant place just out of Christchurch centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“a pleasant place just out of Christchurch centre”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is a lovely place although a bit out of the main centre where you want to be. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Dinner suggestions were good although we arrived just after the Boxing Day earthquake and a few places were closed pending inspection of the premises. Frank is liable to be a bit grouchy but luckily Jo is an absolute sweety

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurscourt, Owner at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are trying to sweeten Frank's grouchiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    85
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
86
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Aroha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We found this motel by chance during difficult times of quake stricken Christchurch and were so lucky. The unit was immaculate - beautifully equipped, spotlessly clean and smelt fabulous. I am partially disabled and had to spend three days alone in the unit, naturally apprerehensive about aftershocks. I had no reason to worry - the hosts looked after me wonderfully well, taking the time during their busy day to visit me. The days were filled with laughter and excellent conversation with our incredibly sociable and charming hosts. I left Christchurch with regret, the impression of new friends made and a strong desire to return. Frank and Jo .... I salute you. You set incredibly high standards in your motel and maintain them at all times. I look forward to returning very much.

Room Tip: Every room in this motel is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalTeAroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurscourt, Owner at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. You made your stay a real pleasure for us. Frank & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This well equipped spotlessly clean motel is conveniently situated 5 minutes drive from the main city centre. There are a couple of restaurants and shops within a few minutes walking distance. Fortunately most of our dealings were with our hostess who was very friendly and helpful, if only the same could be said for our host who obviously viewed guests to his motel as an inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at this motel at the beginning and end of our tour of South Island. The accomodation was super and we also appreciated the helpful advice given by the owners...the local restaraunt was booked on our behalf, we learned quite a bit about local life and we were pleased to be steared towards a visit to Akaroa. The motel is situated about 5 min walk from local shops and restaraunts, and is only about a 20 min walk into the city centre. Lots of space in the rooms, beds really comfortable, some rooms have spa baths(!) and easy to park the car. Everything is very modern, clean and in a quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Motel was beautifully clean and rooms were great. Woudl not stay there ever again as from the minute we arrived we had a lecture on why we werent staying on the way back, what to do and not do in the room, lectured on it would be the best motel we were going to stay in on our 3 week holiday and wouldn't stay in better, not to disturb him or we would be charged $50 and although breakfast is available advised not to have breakfast there. We stayed in 16 other really great motels, with less star rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

With so many accommodation options in Christchurch, we chose this place simply due to the recommendations provided by other reviewers on this website. We were not disappointed.

The room was meticulously maintained by the owners. Everything was like new, and had a very comfortable stay.

Room was self-contained, with a very useable kitchenette. The owners were a little quirky and are very eco conscious, using eco friendly lights, only turning on the fridges when you arrive, to save electricity. The owners were passionate about ensuring their guests have a comfortable stay and provided numerous suggestions on where to visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Modern Clean Motel, Just outside the City Center block. Friendly Service. If you are arriving late make sure you get the Code for the Room Key Safe!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 144 in Christchurch
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Property: Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing