We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arena Motel
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Arena for one night to catch the train to Picton the next day. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and a desk. The kitchen was nice with a small table and chair set. The motel provided free WiFi and milk for our morning coffee. The hosts were friendly and provided free transportation to the train station. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in the front of the motel at the end. It was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 146Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    77
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
90
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment for one night in November.
The apartment was fairly small, but fine for one night. Facilities were adequate and clean and the owners were really friendly. They picked us up from the train station and organised a taxi to the airport the next day ($25 for 3 people - bargain!).
We found the internet signal to be poor from the room, but fine if you stood outside.
The motel isn't very central, but close to an outdoor shopping center with a pub, bakery and food store.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The lady who helped us could not have been a better host, which helped to make our short stay in Christchurch very enjoyable. The room as very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated/furnished. Very quiet in the two bedroom unit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajamundry, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best stay in new zealand for me.. Location is gud and near to thr westfield shopping center. The host is very friendly and helpful and suggested a gud indian resto nearby. The rooms are very spacious for a city motel and very clean.. Overall it's offers a comfortable stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The host are so friendly and helpful. The complimentary transfers to and fro the train station were seamless and stress free. Room was clean and well appointed. The host even ensured that we got the quieter room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKLee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The first half of this review is basically the same as I left for another Christchurch motel about a week ago.

Nothing really wrong with the place and the lady we dealt with was very nice; but nothing stand-out either, and a couple of little drawbacks. So a genuine 3 out of 5, good overall.

The drawbacks were:
- The shower: It uses an odd water system we haven't encountered before. My partner had trouble getting the temperature stable. Worked OK for me but I modified the dials as little as possible and assumed it was going to take a little while to adjust the temperature each time.

- Only toiletries provided are a single two-in-one body and hair wash (!) in the shower and liquid soap for the basin. We always play it safe and take our own conditioner just in case.

- We were in one of the two rooms closest to street noise. Quite noticeable but not a real issue in our case as we are used to living near noise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

These guys were super helpful & friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, and comfortable.
We booked here because it was close to the Railway Station and we were doing the TranzAlpine Train ride over the weekend.
We arrived early on the Friday so that we could spend a day in Christchurch and Dale was very helpful with ideas of what we could do with our day - And we pretty much followed her plan to the letter. We even ended up at the Addington Trots on Friday night because, even though it wasn't advertised, there was racing on. But Dale knew it was on and told us so off we went.
The free shuttle to & from the Railway Station was awesome (even thought it wasn't a huge walk).
And on the Sunday night when we returned (completely exhausted after an awesome trip on the train) our rooms were snuggly warm.
Even the shuttle back to the Airport on Monday was cheaper than what we could organise!!
Would thoroughly recommend this place - only slight niggle was a little bit of road noise (but not enough to keep these tired bunnies awake!!!

Room Tip: The breakfast was excellent. The Addington Coffee co-op around the corner is amazing. Dale was ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#47 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#51 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.0 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#10 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Motel

Property: Arena Motel
Address: 30 Whiteleigh Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Arena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing