We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Value”
Review of Arena Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Motel
Ranked #34 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a great motel, close to the station for the Tranz Alpine and within easy walking distance to a variety of restaurants. There is a shuttle bus from C'church Airport to the motel and the friendly owners kindly drive you to the station in the morning. The room was scrupulously clean with a small kitchenette and modern bathroom. Because of the rebuilding and road closures in the city centre, there was quite a bit of redirected traffic going past when we arrived around 5pm, however it did quieten down in the evening and we had no problem sleeping. Definitely a great value for money motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
93
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well appointed room. Good location. This is a popular motel. Don’t leave your reservation until the last minute. In the high season they can be booked up weeks ahead. I am staying here again on my return to Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there for one night (14th January).
The management were both friendly and helpful.
The two bedroom unit was clean and comfortable.
The cooked breakfast was very tasty, very filling and delivered to our unit with a smile !
Transport to the railway station was prompt and courteous.
However - after arriving at the railway station I discovered that I had left some documents back at the motel - I telephoned the motel and the manager told me that he would deliver the documents to the railway station within 5 minutes - which he did, he refused to accept any payment for this service.
Yes, I would use this motel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed overnight as we wanted to be near the station - we were catching the early morning train to Greymouth. The owners were very friendly and helpful and even kindly drove us to the station. Accommodation was simple, pleasant and quiet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose this Motel because of its proximity to Christchurch Railway station. We came in on the Coastal in the evening and left next morning on the Scenic. The owners picked us up at the station, together with other guests and returned us next morning for the train. This worked out really well because we dropped our rental car off in Wellington, then caught the Interislander across to Picton ant then used the trains to Christchurch and onto Greymouth. This was all part of our tour of NZ. The service at this Motel was first class, thankyou both. The room was very comfortable and we felt safe walking at night. I am saddened by what has happened in Christchurch and my heart goes out to the people there, I don't know if you can ever rebuild your beautiful City but you can be proud that your service will contribute to people continuing to travel to and through your City. We had another night on the other side of the City on our return path and again the service was first class. If you choose this Motel you can expect to get exceptional service for a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom on the ground floor - very comfortable and close to everything. There wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Was worried that as Christchurch accommodation was in hot demand that we would get a bit of a dud but we were very pleasantly surprised and the friendliness of the managers made all the difference. Really only slept in the room but had all you needed and at a good price ($130) and close to the railway station - we were getting the Trans Alpine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed here twice recently, on both occasions coming off a Scenic train journey. A free courtesy call from the phone provided at the station dependably and quickly brings the Arena minibus to collect us, also free of charge. The apartments are very well built - good side to side and up and down sound-proofing - and also very well cleaned and maintained: fresh, comfortable and welcoming. Continental breakfasts are fine. Booking of shuttle buses to the airport is quickly and efficiently handled as part of check in: other travel and eating-place advice isn't grudged. In short the owners offer both excellent professional service and excellent rooms. We rarely use the 'excellent' category but here it's justified.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention when booking that pick up from the station is requested if you are coming to C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 145 in Christchurch
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 145 in Christchurch
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 145 in Christchurch
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#49 of 145 in Christchurch
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
#72 of 145 in Christchurch
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#48 of 145 in Christchurch
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Motel

Property: Arena Motel
Address: 30 Whiteleigh Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arena Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing