We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed rooms”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just the one night. The rooms were modern and spacious. They were well appointed with a very well set up kitchenette, separate shower and spa bath, free wifi and parking. The location is good with a small balcony overlooking Hagley Park and just 10-15 mins walk to the CBD or Riccarton shops. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank GJOE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying here. I like the hotel and the staff are friendly and helpful. I do recommend staying here.

There's only one issue. A lack of restaurants nearby.

This hotel is above The Running Bull bar and grill but the service at the restaurant is not that good and the food is a bit ordinary.

Breakfast is by room service only.
Upside is free wifi and satellite television.

The hotel is across the road from Hagley Park and if you go left into Nth Hagley Park there is a very pretty Botanical Gardens to walk around.

The city center is accessible within a 15 minutes walk through the park.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Getting accommodation in Christchurch can sometimes be a challenge these days (post earthquake) with a high demand for available beds. I have tried several places so my recent stay at the Parkview on Hagley was a first time visit. What I liked was the spacious, modern room that I had (301).It was a studio style room with bed, couch, dining table and chairs, and two casual chairs all in one room. But there was plenty of room. Ranch style sliding doors opened up on to a small balcony albeit that the view was over the car parking. That didn't concern me.
The car park was also a plus for me. There was plenty of space starting with covered parks at the lower levels where parking is shared with a restaurant in the same building to guest only parking on the top open air level. For the purpose of my travel access to and from the hotel was easy as I headed south on Riccarton Road and arrived back in the evenings via Deans Ave. Both were left hand turns without any traffic congestion problems which can be a very real issue in Christchurch at present.
The office hours I recall were 7am to 8pm so if you arrive later in the evening, as I did, you will likely find your welcome envelope with entry instructions taped to the office door. Everything was very clear and presented no issue.
I cannot compliment the restaurant in the same complex based on my experience. It was the only negative but shouldn't be interpreted as anything to do with my hotel stay. There are plenty of other dining options a short distance away down Riccarton Road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent well appointed spacious room with reliable free Wifi available in the room. We had an excellent breakfast delivered to our room and there is a linked restaurant where we had roast NZ lamb to die for. Reception were really helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here twice once when we arrived in Christchurch and once the night before we left. The clerk even gave us the same room. The rooms are huge and really comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was an added bonus. The view out the rooms are not great, but everything else was awesome. The rooms were a little more expensive than other hotels of comparable amenities in New Zealand.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our two night stay was comfortable. The room was clean, modern, had great facilities, and the hotel was quiet. It is close to the town, and has lovely views of the park. The staff were minimal, as we stayed over the Christmas holiday, but the lovely girl who checked us in was helpful, as was the manager

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms. Free WiFi, lots of Sky Channels, Very friendly and helpful staff. Handy to Riccarton Road restaurants and right opposite Hagley Park. The rooms facing onto Deans Ave and Riccarton Road are lighter with bigger windows but can be noisy with morning rush hour traffic as the hotel is right on a busy round about. Recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Riccarton Road are lighter with much bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#37 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $87 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing