We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved being across from the park”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #57 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved being across from the park”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. There didn't seem to be many other guests, so it was very quiet in the building. The staff was very friendly. We loved being across from Hagley Park. We would go for a nice walk every night in the amazing park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    71
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
70
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The room was very expensive, but there was not any choice at the time, due to a shortage of accommodation in Christchurch. Though the room itself was nice, finding hair in the basin is not a good look. The room was advertised as having a corner spa bath. The spa bath was definitely there, but there was a big sign in it saying "don't use due to water shortage". I stayed in two other hotels during that same week, and neither said anything about water restrictions. They had even removed the plug from the bath to make it unusable. The "corner spa bath" should be removed from their advertising if you can't use it. I would have complained to a staff member, if I had seen or heard one during my stay(which I didn't).

Would not stay here again, unless there was a change in management.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the park is nice, if you don't mind the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in November. The stay was brilliant. A great location; good facilities. The staff from Reception to Cleaners were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson_NewZealandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I initially stayed here because a friend had already checked in. When I inquired on the rate I was shocked at the response (NZ$360), fortunately, my colleague was staying on a company rate (NZ$150) and the receptionist was happy to honor this, otherwise I would not have stayed here at all. I get the feeling that some Christchurch hotels/motels are cashing in on the earthquake because of the damage and restricted access to the CBD hotels. Other than this, I did not have any problems with the establishment, but I would not pay 5-star hotel rates for a standard motel room.

Room Tip: Request a park facing room, as there is a popular and noisy bar (Raging Bull) on the Riccarton Rd si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1parkview, Manager at Parkview on Hagley, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
We are very dissapointed to read this review as our room rates have not increased since we opened in November 2007.
These room rates are: Standard Room $199.00 per night.
Executive Room $235.00 per night
Premier Exec. Room $285.00 per night
Penthouse Room $335.00 per night
None of our room rates correspond with rates quoted by this reviewer ,and in fact we also provided accommodation to the earthquake affected residents of a Retirement Village following the September Earthquake , for 6 weeks, which makes the 'Cashing in' title of this review even more distressing to us and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

It's been 2 years since our last stay; but the rooms are still as immaculately presented and well appointed as I remember. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location and no earthquake damage. What more could we want! We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMarlb0r0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

After spending time the very expensive tourist rip off culture area of Fox Glacier, we travelled to Christchurch and found this classy, well appointed, well managed accomodation on our last nights stay in the South Island.
The manager was exceptionally obliging, friendly but professional. Our room very spacious, comfortable with good amenities. We were offered late check out and there was ample car parking. There were plenty of eating establishments within easy walking distance.
I see that there was a previous review regarding traffic noise. Lets face it, anything located on Hagley Park is not going to be deviod of traffic noise but we had our window open for fresh air as I do not like air conditioning and had a perfectly good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We spent one night in the “Parkview on Hagley” in January 2010.

Location:
The hotel is located a bit outside the city centre; you can walk into the centre of town through Hagley Park in about 15 minutes. The car can be parked for free in the hotel’s own garage. The driving time to Christchurch International Airport is only about 10 min.

Rooms:
The room was clean and spacious, with a balcony, overlooking the parking garage. The interior is ok, nothing special, but we felt comfortable and slept well. As we needed a good and comfortable place to spend the night before the flight back home, it hit our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 145 in Christchurch
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#36 of 145 in Christchurch
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#53 of 145 in Christchurch
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Property: Parkview on Hagley
Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing