We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; amazing and true Customer Service”
Review of Parkview on Hagley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkview on Hagley
Ranked #54 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in November. The stay was brilliant. A great location; good facilities. The staff from Reception to Cleaners were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson_NewZealandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

I initially stayed here because a friend had already checked in. When I inquired on the rate I was shocked at the response (NZ$360), fortunately, my colleague was staying on a company rate (NZ$150) and the receptionist was happy to honor this, otherwise I would not have stayed here at all. I get the feeling that some Christchurch hotels/motels are cashing in on the earthquake because of the damage and restricted access to the CBD hotels. Other than this, I did not have any problems with the establishment, but I would not pay 5-star hotel rates for a standard motel room.

Room Tip: Request a park facing room, as there is a popular and noisy bar (Raging Bull) on the Riccarton Rd si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1parkview, Manager at Parkview on Hagley, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

We are very dissapointed to read this review as our room rates have not increased since we opened in November 2007.
These room rates are: Standard Room $199.00 per night.
Executive Room $235.00 per night
Premier Exec. Room $285.00 per night
Penthouse Room $335.00 per night
None of our room rates correspond with rates quoted by this reviewer ,and in fact we also provided accommodation to the earthquake affected residents of a Retirement Village following the September Earthquake , for 6 weeks, which makes the 'Cashing in' title of this review even more distressing to us and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

It's been 2 years since our last stay; but the rooms are still as immaculately presented and well appointed as I remember. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location and no earthquake damage. What more could we want! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineMarlb0r0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

After spending time the very expensive tourist rip off culture area of Fox Glacier, we travelled to Christchurch and found this classy, well appointed, well managed accomodation on our last nights stay in the South Island.
The manager was exceptionally obliging, friendly but professional. Our room very spacious, comfortable with good amenities. We were offered late check out and there was ample car parking. There were plenty of eating establishments within easy walking distance.
I see that there was a previous review regarding traffic noise. Lets face it, anything located on Hagley Park is not going to be deviod of traffic noise but we had our window open for fresh air as I do not like air conditioning and had a perfectly good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaHatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We spent one night in the “Parkview on Hagley” in January 2010.

Location:
The hotel is located a bit outside the city centre; you can walk into the centre of town through Hagley Park in about 15 minutes. The car can be parked for free in the hotel’s own garage. The driving time to Christchurch International Airport is only about 10 min.

Rooms:
The room was clean and spacious, with a balcony, overlooking the parking garage. The interior is ok, nothing special, but we felt comfortable and slept well. As we needed a good and comfortable place to spend the night before the flight back home, it hit our expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed at Parkview on Hagley twice - at the beginning (2 nights) and end (3 nights) of a 25 day road trip in the South Island. We were upgraded on both occasions from a standard to an executive suite. The suite was large and spotless, with a very comfortable bed, bright bedside reading lights and quality linen. The kitchen nook was handy for preparing self-catered breakfasts. Free and plentiful car parking was a bonus. There was only one negative aspect - the lighting in the room and kitchen nook was inadequate, but that was the only issue in a very pleasant stay. I would be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Great location, clean, comfortable, lovely walk through the park into the city... staff were great! I would skip the room service food from the restaurant next door...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
288 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview on Hagley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview on Hagley

Address: 1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#34 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#35 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $100 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview on Hagley 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parkview on Hagley, luxurious studio hotel suite accommodation located at the green heart of Christchurch, beautiful Hagley Park. As our name suggests, most of our 40 suites enjoy views over leafy Hagley Park, many from their own private balcony. Enjoy the ever-changing outlook, as Spring daffodils, cherry blossom and brilliant Autumn colours each in turn grace this much-loved Christchurch icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkview on Hagley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview On Hagley Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing