We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Block Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut Block Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This place is one of the best kept secrets. Situated on a lovely vineyard in a quiet location. The cottages are modern and comfortable and the hosts are amazing!

You just have to stay here if you're in Blenheim.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in cottage 1. Its very well set out and the vines are right on the doorstep. Really everything that you need and the location is good, between Blenheim and the main wineries. The supplies for the continental breakfast were fine. The free WiFi and Sky TV are all you need for a relaxing stay. Only 2 nights but we could have spent more. Clyde was very helpful in providing good recommendations about where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights end March, beginning April. Weather was perfect, wandering through the vines, pear trees, fig trees, lovely natural gardens, we wound down from working to relax mode very quickly here. The cottages are very private, heated bathroom floor is lovely, the décor is modern, stylish and ultra clean. The Walnut Block wine was very nice too! Unless you stay in town you will need a car to get around but then you should already know that if you have done any research. This is the case for all wine growing areas in the world. Clyde was warm and friendly and we knew he was always close by if we needed him for anything. Ask him some advice on where to eat, sample some other wines, and where to go also as he was always happy to help.

Be aware that the cottages are in Blicks LANE not Road. Our mistake for not having a better detailed map but a quick phone call and it was all good. The breakfast provided was terrific, more than you will need, very generous and fresh.

I suppose one person did have a point that the afternoon sun does come in but that's also great for drying any washing on the airer provided, or close the curtains! As for a shade structure, an oven, a dishwasher, maybe over time they will add these but at the moment it is really all anyone should require when on holidays. Having your own BBQ was great, new one replacing the old the day we left. The wardrobe/dressing area is very well thought out and large and the little panorama windows let you have a glimpse of the sunset and night sky or an early morning view. Wi Fi - perfect and included and accommodation cost was worth every dollar, not too high, just right, considering the standard of the room and it's inclusions. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Don't miss the Omaka Air Museum, very close as was the airport for our arrival and car pickup. Go have a pork belly pie at the Burleigh Pie shop, mmmmmm and also go to the gardens in Pollard Park, lovely roses and cool climate trees.

Room Tip: Both cottages are the same, both have the same outlook over the vines, face the same way, so it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Located 10 minutes drive from the town of Blenheim, the Walnut block is a real find. The two cottages feel secluded and literally in the middle of the vineyards, affording stunning views, sunsets and starred skies. They also happen to be near the real good restaurant and foodie options in the area. The cottages are spacious, modern, comfortable, well appointed and they come with some helpful breakfast needs. The owners are lovely and helpful. All in all, I cannot think of a better base to explore the Marlborough region.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
306 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Good stuff:

Room to spare.
Quality furnishings and fittings, and all the accessories you might want..
Clean and tidy.
Excellent layout design.
Great bed and I really liked the shower.
Owners are available if you need.
In the wine area but also pretty close to town if you need a fancy coffee.

Other stuff:

It ain't cheap but it is fair value for what you get.
I could try hard and think of a few little things that might be different but they are unimportant.

This is a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

When I arrived to my cottage I was quite sure that I had died and come to heaven. Such a beautiful place, the cottage was modern and super clean, breakfast supplies were delicious, BBQ, pear trees just a few steps away, cold Sauvignon Blanc in the fridge... Definitely worth every dollar, I wish I can return some beautiful day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Beautifully appointed cottage - only 2 here. Right in the middle of vines and fruit trees, and so handy to all of Marlborough's attractions.

Lovely people run the cottages - very helpful and friendly. Try their wines!

Under the huuuuge walnut tree in your back garden you can find fresh walnuts.

Great value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ortho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.9 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.4 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Two Tree Lodge
Two Tree Lodge
#2 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Block Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Block Cottages

Property: Walnut Block Cottages
Address: 43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxurious one bedroom cottages set amongst the vines, Walnut Block Cottages offer a haven of seclusion and comfort in a relaxed and inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Block Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing