We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut Block Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hidden gem!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Walnut Block cottages were easily my favourite accomodation in New Zealand. Being wine-lovers, my husband and I loved sitting on our little deck with a glass of wine surrounded by vines! In fact, we were only booked for one night and decided to extend the stay because of how lovely the cottage was. We even had take-away for dinner both nights just so we could enjoy the view. The breakfast was simple but lovely, the bed was super comfortable and I think we may have showered 3 times a day just because the shower was so amazing. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We stayed on the cottage on the right but I suspect both are fantastic. There are only 2 cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ended a two week tour in New Zealand with a stay at Walnut Block Cottages and it was the perfect choice. We love NZ wine, and in particular had looked forward to visiting the Marlborough wine region. Staying at a vineyard in the area was the ideal way to fully experience all this wonderful area has to offer. Walnut Block Cottages are ideally situated in Blenheim and a short drive (or walk!) to many great wineries. The cottage itself is well appointed, perfectly clean and luxurious. We enjoyed using the BBQ to grill and steam green NZ mussels. We loved wandering the vineyards with a glass of wine in hand and we took the hosts up on their offer to 'raid' the nearby cherry trees! The sun sets from the patio are stunning and the perfect way to end a day of winery tours. The bed is so comfortable and it's lovely to wake to views of green vineyards and the sound of birds. Clyde was there if you needed anything, but left you to enjoy the privacy of the cottage. We hope to return to Marlborough one day & we will make Walnut Block our home base for sure. We suggest you do the same!

Room Tip: Both cottages are situated to offer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you're in for wine tasting in Marlborough, this is the place. The other reviews pretty well explain why this place is amazing. I agree with those who say this was the best place on the South Island that they stayed. The accommodations are impeccable - tasteful decor, really comfortable bed, full kitchen and BBQ, excellent breakfast foods stocked, fantastic bathroom (with plenum heating). We burned out our memory card snapping photos of the gorgeous views of vines and sunsets. Big thumbs up too for the wines produced by Walnut Block. We found their Sauv Blanc to be one of the best we tasted in the region - good fruit, but much more balanced than some of the over-fruited sauvs that are growing to be commonplace in the area. The inn's location is also ideal. The Marlborough wineries are dispersed, but Walnut Block is more or less in the middle of things - with easy access to to downtown Blenheim and Renwick. You'll need your own transport to get around. We rented bikes, which was a good call for guilt-free tastings. The roads are flat and it's not windy (at least when we were there).

Finally, Clyde's a font of knowledge for where to eat and taste in the neighborhood. Take his advice and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

After touring the North Island on our honeymoon our first stop on the South Island was Walnut block cottages. We spent three relaxing nights here taking in the scenery and drinking the wonderful wine! The hosts were great, encouraging us to wander the vineyards and even let us taste some of their cherries from their cherry trees! Great place to stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dconnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved Walnut Block Cottages. Would definitely be up there for the best place we stayed in the South Island. We were lucky enough to be the only ones staying (note there is only 2 cottages so never going to be crowded). A short drive from most of the main attractions of the Region. The cottage itself is great - super comfy bed, really roomy shower and bathroom with under floor heating and a great walk in robe behind the bed (great to have some room to put your bags etc away out of the room.

If visiting the area would definitely recommend the aviation museum and our favourite vineyards were Brancott Estate (what a beautiful long lunch - go with the Chef's suggestions) and Highfields - excellent service and really nice wine (you must try the Riesling)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBubbaNewcastleNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We originally had booked 2 nights for our stay.... But it was just so wonderful we extended for one more night.

The accommodation is excellent. A great sized kitchen, table for eating, living room area, an exceptionally comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom. The views are excellent and Clyde was extremely helpful and gave us some great tips for the local area.

We could not have asked for anything more during our stay and it was perfect. We would both highly recommend Walnut Block Cottage and we are hoping to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering this gorgeous cottage we were blown away. They truly have thought of everything. You simply have to read their website. Everything on it is true to its word. Even in winter the view is breath taking. The small details such as Sheridan towels, beautiful fixtures and amenities and a beautiful comfortable bed. Even the carpet is soft! The breakfast provisions are generous and I loved how they had they're selection of wines available. Would recommend this accommodation to everyone. And yes, we will return. Many times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
4.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
2.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Block Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Block Cottages

Property: Walnut Block Cottages
Address: 43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxurious one bedroom cottages set amongst the vines, Walnut Block Cottages offer a haven of seclusion and comfort in a relaxed and inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Block Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing