We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lodge and hosts”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome and ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. Nice park across the road.
Enjoyed the compact kitchen facilities, easy to cook and serve up a meal. Two televisions to watch, (one in bedroom) although we were too tired to use them!
Recommend anyone who wants a reasonably priced spacious unit with cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you found the unit spacious and the kitchen to your satisfaction. It is certainly a bonus for us to have the lovely Seymour Gardens situated across the road from us. It is quite beautiful in the evenings with the fountain lit up with it's changing colours. We hope you will be back to stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great place to stay. Very clean and tidy. Well located a short walk to the central shops. Friendly service. Lovely park across the road. Only negative is the amount of traffic noise and noisy Saturday night revellers. I would recommend to others and stay there again myself next time I am in Blenhiem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlunHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for doing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our units and will pass your comments on to our team of girls. We are in the process of double glazing and hope to soon take out the blinds and put in drapes which we are sure will cut down on any noise from the Saturday night revelers. Thankfully it doesn't happen every week. We hope we will see you back to stay with us sometime in the future. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Earlier reviews say it all!
We stayed 2 nights at this lovely motor lodge. We arrived after a long day's travel from Wellington that had its frustrations and mishaps. We knew it would be a great stay when the ever smiling host Jenny welcomed us and quickly had us sorted and settled into our meticulously clean and large room. We had 2 peaceful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed.
The same late afternoon Jenny provided us with recommendations for dinner and also some tourist attractions for the next day. We were travelling by train from Picton to Christchurch so with no vehicle it was great advice that Jenny gave us which made the following day a real pleasure looking around the lovely township of Blenheim. On our departure day we had 2 big suitcases to get from the motor lodge to the train station-no short distance but walkable if no ailments. Murray when chatting to us and realising where we were heading, offered immediately to throw the luggage in his vehicle and drive us there-no offer to catch a taxi, he would do it for us!
The lodge is perfectly located on the edge of the CBD and within a 2 minutes flat walk, you are in the township. Blenheim,which sits on a river, has a good array of cafes is a very nice township.. A very lovely park is also directly opposite the motor lodge.
Thanks to Jenny, Murray and their lovely motor lodge, we had a wonderful stay in Blenheim and will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed what Blenheim has to offer. As you say our Motor Lodge is in a great location being so close to the town center and having the lovely Seymour Gardens across the road. We hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Usually places never look as good as they do online but this place is an exception.

Family of 5 with 2 kids in one bedroom in two single beds and we had a room with a king bed and a single.

Each bedroom had a nice flat screen tv as well as the lounge.

Super tidy, clean and modern unit.

Very friendly staff who were very welcoming even though we turned up for an unexpected early check in.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. The Family unit is great for a family as it is quite spacious and it is lovely having the park across the road. Hopefully we will see you back with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Motel is nice and quiet with no street noise, hosts very friendly, though I think giving 50 mb of data on internet is pretty lean these days. Room was clean and tidy. Shower had lower water pressure though, would stay again. Hotel very central

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate any feedback we get. As you say it is a great location and even though it is in the center of town it is still very quiet. We hope to have you stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stay in various motels every week as a sales person. when the need came to stay in Blenheim.
I tried various motels but they were plain and a little unfriendly, and not always clean. Then I stayed at Lugano I was very impressed with the quality of the rooms,comfort of the bed and all the necessary ammenities. I now only stay at Lugano and have had many colleges stay there. I now feel like part of the family and would only stay at Lugano. It is all about Attitude and Jenny and Murray are the best Hosts in Town.

Room Tip: Always view the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for the review of your stays with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. We are thrilled you feel comfortable with us and find everything to your satisfaction as we appreciate the high standards you have. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lugano as it was situated close to town and services. The hosts were genuinely outstanding with their care and attention to our comfort. Nothing was a problem. The rooms were fresh, clean and great comfort. Thoroughly recommend Lugano.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Whitney23G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano_11, Owner at Lugano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great location being so close to town and pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms We will pass your comments onto our team of girls. Thank you again Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
646 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $97 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing