We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay in Blenheim”
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Recent stay in Blenheim”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This Motel is in a gerat location, very central to Blenheim and only 10 minutes from the airport.
Lovely rooms and the new owners, Murray and Jenny are extremely friendly and went the extra mile for me. I appreciated their assistance and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    58
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
125
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Friendly hosts, happy to help when asked for info, went out of their way to get info & make phjone calls.

Only negative is that the bed was HARD, really, really hard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibreartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This motel was just lovely. Across the road from a lovely park and all the autumn trees it was amazing. Motel was clean and nice. New owners who are very friendly. Close to town. Would recommend anyone staying in Blenheim to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, you see more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadbayofplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I arrived late afternoon at Blenheim airport and drove to town looking for a 2 nights accomodation when I passed Lugano Motor Lodge. I was very lucky and pleased that just minutes before somebody had to cancel there booking. I picked the last room. Blenheim is not a hot spot but a friendly and nico local town, great to explore the region and close to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.

The hosts gave me a very warm welcome and where helpful with information. I had a corner upstairs unit. The room was absolutely spotless and had everything I needed. The kitchenunit was fully equipted and presented to the highest standard. I had two nice small outdoor seating areas. The only thing was that the room looks out on a buzy and noicy sidestreet. The bathroom was highest standard.

The location could not be beaten - very central, just a short walk to the shops, supermarket and restaurants and right on the Seymour Park and walkway. I would recomend Lugano motor lodge as one of the best Blenheim properties, if not best. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisverslaafde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband, his parents and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012 while we were on holiday. I had booked a one-bedroom room via their website a few weeks prior and the owners were very quick to respond and offered a larger room if we wanted it. On arrival, the room was spotlessly clean and had a well equipped kitchenette. The heating system worked well, which was great after a wet day of hiking on the Queen Charlotte Track.
The motor lodge is in a very central location, across from a nice park and within easy walking distance to various shops, a supermarket and cafes/restaurants. We also had the free pick-up and drop-off service for the Wine Tours by Bike here which was nice.
We had no problems with noise from the street or other guests, though keep in mind that it was mid-week during shoulder season. The only minor issue was that the fold-out bed in the lounge was a bit smaller than we expected (a bit bigger than a single bed, but quite comfortable), which I suppose is why they offered us the larger room. On the bright side, they did a great job of setting-up the fold-out bed while we were out at dinner. My in-laws reported that the bed in their room was very comfortable.
The service was also very friendly so I would happily stay here again and recommend it as a good base for any of our family and friends visiting Blenheim.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as two couples then consider booking the 2-bedroom unit which has a Queen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Lugano Motor Lodge is a good central town location with all the facilities to be expected in a 4 star plus motel. We chose an Executive room and I dont think we would have wanted to go to a lesser room than this. The executive room has a separate bedroom at the back - a bit quieter from the street noise - and a spa bathroom. the kitchen/living area is small but very clean and equipped for doing breakfasts. Parking is adequate outside the unit. there was a small outdoor seating area too, perfect for an early evening glass of wine.
Unfortunately the noise from upstairs guests partying into the small hours was a problem on our last night - not the owner of the motels fault but perhaps the moteliers need to address this issue if it happens on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Suite at the back of the complex, away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great place to stay, two couples stayed in a roomy 2 bedroom apartment. Very friendly Tony and Brenda own the motel and will give you a very warm welcome. Few mins walk from a big supermarket and the town centre. Overall really happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_red30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Property: Lugano Motor Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim, overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens. The Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops, restaurants and conference centre. Unlimited Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing