We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on. Delicious food, generous portions”
Review of Argosy Cafe + Take Away - CLOSED

Argosy Cafe + Take Away
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spot on. Delicious food, generous portions”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Plenty of choices on the menu. I had the roast pork, it was tasty with loads of vegetables and well presented and the other diner had a burger that rated highly. Service was friendly and fast. Take the opportunity to inspect the Argosy aeroplane and watch a movie on its history plus sit in the cockpit of this restored freighter. A pleasant experience combining good food and a history lesson.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had supper here last week. Quite a way out from Blenheim (need a car). Cafe style. Huge portions, so excellent for anyone who is really hungry. Fresh food, pleasant service, standard dishes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Well I know I only went for a coffee and it was early well 9am and I think there were 5 staff there may be it was 4 , two were on the serving side and two I the kitchen. They took my order took my money and I was asked to take a seat and they would bring it over, I went and sat down and waited, waited got up and looked around at all the photos, went over to the counter where one af the counter staff was on the phone having a long chat.
After 25 minuets waiting and being the only customer in the place I gave up walked out and would not go back in the place again

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blenheim NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large meals”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Large wholesome meals. Management are very obliging and welcoming. One can climb into the Argosy aircraft parked right next door. This plane has been restored to a very high standard

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank linleyblenheimNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anakiwa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flying beautifully”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excellent wholesome, freshly made and served food. Lovely, really friendly service.

The Argosy is a wonderful plane to have a look at inside, fascinating for adults and kids.

The restaurant is simple but well run and the prices are excellent value.

We dine at the Argosy regularly on our way home from Blenheim.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argosy Cafe + Take Away also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing