We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hans Herzog Estate

Hans Herzog Estate
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $88
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fabulous lunch at the Bistro at Hans Herzog Winery. On a beautiful, sunny day, sitting in the garden with stunning views, sipping glasses of 'the spirit of Marlborough wine" we enjoyed the most succulent chateaubriand ever! The smoked salmon starter was delicious and the passionfruit desert was sublime. The staff were friendly and attentive, but never intrusive. We were fortunate enough to bump into the very friendly owner, Mr Herzog, on our way out. My husband, who is also Swiss, and I had a chat with him, praising the standard of food and service personally. We enjoyed everything so much, that it did not take much persuasion from my husband to return the next day for dinner, which was equally superb. We will definitely return on our next trip to NZ.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary and Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    102
    68
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great evening dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

It has been a few years since we visited Herzog's and we took advantage of one of their set menu evenings recently. The staff are exceptionally attentive and friendly. The Bistro is gorgeous and the view out through the gardens very relaxing. Wines were in style as expected and excellent. The food was very good-would give 5 stars etc if the lamb was tender. Starter was divine, local asparagus, tuna and suckling pig with a lovely creamy wasabi? sauce. Dessert of rhubarb, strawberries and roulade was beautiful. The gnocchi with the main was amazing but a pity the lamb was not tender at all. We will be back for evening dining and recommend-not for the visitors that want a huge meal-but for those who want a taste experience.
Thanks to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Ctr. Vt.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Provence?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We cannot recommend highly enough how very much we enjoyed dinner in the Herzog Estate Bistro last week. The food is the equal of much we have found in France, the service attentive, unobtrusive and utterly relaxed and the wine, on our visit never ran out... This is one of those dinners we shall never forget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JEBVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

we been there one of our friend good selection of wine we bought few wines pinot gris got nice fruity flavours and very smoth in taste

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank asdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fancy wines with presentations to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this winery as it came highly recommended to us. We were glad we did, because we really enjoyed their wines. The service was a little bit snooty, but we excused because it seemed to match the overall ambiance of the place. It appears to be a more upscale place, with their wines and with their beautiful grounds, so they probably feel they have a reputation to maintain. It's definitely worth a tasting though, if nothing else. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carpediem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hans Herzog Estate also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hans Herzog Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing