We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
47
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
47
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast beautiful garden nice hosts first floor each morning family room wine country short drive spent two nights blenheim area would stay here again judith ensuite balcony guests fridge ferry
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 53 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2016

Judith and Peter warmly greeted us upon arrival, and gave us maps and suggestions for touring the area. The house was clean and quiet. Each of the 3 ensuite rooms was spacious, as were the ensuite bathrooms. The Continental breakfast offered many choices including fresh fruits from their garden. There is a pretty garden, fruit trees, and lovely view of the local vineyards from the back of the house. Parking was spacious, safe, and convenient on the property. The B&B is convenient to town (less than 5 minutes), but quiet. The WiFi connection was fast and strong. Judith and Peter will make you feel truly at home in their lovely B&B.

Room tip: All three are good with different views.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG-Blenheim, Owner at Green Gables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you share our home as well as all the interesting conversations. We hope you have a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016

we booked a room at Green Gables whilst on the road to Blenheim, sold by the lovely description of the property. We were travelling with our four month old baby. this was the only property we stayed in both New Zealand and Australia, where you had to pay extra for a cot. when we declined to get a cot and decided we would co-sleep (room had a king bed and two singles) (SIDs say you can co sleep safely with just mum and bub in the bed) we got numerous condescending and rude questions about cleanliness and safety. we subsequently felt very awkward and unwelcome and elected to find somewhere else to stay where we could relax and not be paranoid about our sleeping arrangements and if our baby made a noise in the night. we had paid upfront, hosts were at least obliging in refunding us. we own a B&B in Australia and make it our mission to make everyone who comes to stay to feel welcome, relaxed and like nothing is to much trouble.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msmurphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG-Blenheim, Owner at Green Gables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

This couple booked a room with us by telephone on the afternoon of the 7th March. After booking the room they informed us they were travelling with a four month old baby and were bringing with them all the babies requirements. This young couple arrived a short time later and we were surprised to find they had no provisions for the babies sleeping arrangements. They told us the baby would be sleeping in the bed with them. We expressed our concern about this for the safety of the baby and there was no waterproofing on the mattress of the bed. We offered them our cot and bedding for a small charge. After giving this some thought they declined our offer and chose to to find somewhere else to stay. We refunded their money and they went on their way. Had the couple been honest from the word go and told us they were travelling with a baby before they booked, this would have saved this situation. We still believe it is unwise to allow young babies to sleep with their parents in the same bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stay next to the river with fruit trees (ripe now and delicious!) and quiet, spacious rooms. All ensuites and nicely appointed. Judith and Peter were thoughtful and helpful, booking a lunch for us at a wonderful winery. Be sure to visit the Aviation Heritage center while here. Breakfast is a well appointed continental with fresh fruit of course!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2016

Luck brought us to this Bed and Breakfast in the wine district! Fantastic Judith and Peter giving you good advise for day-trips, and taking care of you in the best of ways! Comfortable big bed in a spacey room looking out on a lovely garden from the balcony.
And thanks for interesting discussions!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margareta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

Peter and Judith are a warm and welcoming couple and we found them so helpful. Their B&B sits in 3.5 acres, it is spotless and the breakfast room (with good breakfast choice) looks over the garden.
Our room was spacious with a lovely view and fully equipped, it even had an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was also huge (bath and separate shower) with lovely fluffy white towels.
For guests there is an upstairs lounge area on the first floor and a terrace with table and chairs to enjoy a lovely glass of great NZ wine in the early evening sunshine.
A great 2 night stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews