We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wine Country Accomodation in NZ”
Review of Blue Ridge Estate

Blue Ridge Estate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ridge Estate
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have stayed at Blue Ridge at least 5 separate times. We keep returning because it is a blissful place. Brian and Leslie grow beautiful grapes, their guest rooms are among the vines. The B and B is located among theNZ great vineyards and very near Marlborough's best restaurants. The breakfasts are brilliant, all homegrown foods deliciously prepared. The rooms are beautiful, and Brian knows everything about NZ travel as he was a travel executive before he became a wine grower.
We have travelled extensively in NZ and return each year and we think this is the best B and B in NZ!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts Brian and Lesley put themselves out for us and made us feel very welcome. They made great suggestions of where to visit and places to eat and we enjoyed our conversations with them. The room we were in was absolutely fine. I liked he fact there was no TV. Breakfast was also good. The wineries for visiting are all close by. We would definitely come back here. I hope the ducks return! We did have wireless internet which worked very well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Property is nice but the rooms were not well equiped. Average value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 15 day trip around the South Island New Zealand. We stayed at the Blue Ridge Estates for 1 night on our trip. Overall, this was an excellent stay. We very much enjoyed meeting Brian and Lesley who were warm, inviting, and helpful with recommendations for dinner and winery tours. They have a lovely, cozy home on a vineyard. The room was comfortable and decent size with a great ensuite bathroom. The back patio and vineyard were a perfect setting to relax and have a glass of wine. We stayed at 9 B&Bs in NZ on our whirlwind tour, and this was one of our favorites. The breakfast was delicious! The only drawbacks I can see in comparing this with other properties was their lack of internet access and the fact there were no TVs in the rooms (though this could be considered a bonus!). This was one of the lower cost places we stayed, and definitely the best value for the trip- highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luv2RunMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

If you are considering visiting the Wine Trail in Marlborough this accommodation is perfect. Excellent location for visiting lots of wineries and the towns of Picton and Blenheim. Wonderful peaceful vineyard, extremely private. Great facilities large bedroom and ensuite bathroom beautifully decorated with private patio area for relaxing. Brian and Lesley were wonderful hosts, gave us lots of tips and information about the area, booked us places to visit and eventold us the best way to travel along the Queen Charlotte Drive to get the best views. Wonderful cooked breakfast every morning and lots of personnel touches.
Brian and Lesley were fabulous company, we arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank blackhorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Brian and Lesley Avery give you a welcome second to none when you arrive at their beautifully appointed b/b. The house has won the Master Builders' House of the Year Award. The rooms are modern, very clean and well furnished. Lesley is a mine of information and could not be more helpful. Brian can answer all the questions you care to ask about growing vines. He is full of fascintaing stories about his change in life style. Brian even took the trouble to drive us to the local gourmet eating place...Hertzog which does an outstandingly good five course tasting menu and superb wines to match. This too a recommendation from Lesley. Before dinner Lesley directed us to one of the stunning local beaches for one of our best swims in the whole of New Zealand. The difference somebody once said between staying in a hotel and a b/b is that when you leave a b/b you give the people a big hug and kisses...how true. We were so pleased on this second visit that we decided to stay outside of Blenheim in this blissful spot with views across the vineyard to the distant hills with only the sound of the birds

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Ridge Estate at the end of December 2007, in the Blue Room. Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night, but really wished we could have stayed longer.

Our hosts, Brian and Lesley, were very welcoming, and Brian was very helpful with tips on places to visit. He also helped arrange delivery and collection of two bikes which we rented to tour the area.

Our room was lovely - comfy bed, lovely bathroom (the outside wall of the shower was made of glass blocks which was really nice), and all very clean. The bedroom had doors opening onto its own terrace and had great views over the garden to the vineyard... heaven!

Breakfast was great, with local seasonal fruit, yoghurts, and lovely cooked food.

The location was great for us - very quiet and in the middle of vineyards. We rented a couple of bikes and managed to visit about 12 wineries in one afternoon... hic! The closest wineries are Hunters, Drylands, and Saint Clair, which are all easy to cycle to - especially as it's very flat. The others are a bit further away, so you need to be reasonably fit if you want to walk or cycle there.

I would highly recommend this place - lovely, comfortable and peaceful, with great hosts.

Thanks Brian and Lesley!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
4.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
2.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
645 reviews
2.3 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Estate

Address: 50 O'Dwyers Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range: $119 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing